Dashnaiv Peptides
Compounds·immunomodulators & host defense·thymic peptide; TLR-mediated immunomodulation

Thymosin alpha-1 (thymalfasin, Zadaxin) peptide: what 65 randomized trials found, where it is approved, and what the gray-market vials rest on

What 1,079 indexed publications and 65 randomized trials actually state about thymosin alpha-1, sentence by sentence, each tied to its source and labeled by the kind of evidence it is.

Human clinical trial Reviewed 24 sources Updated Also: Thymalfasin, Thymalfasine, Timalfasina

At a glance

Evidence availability
Human clinical evidence
Strongest tier in the indexed literature
Indexed publications
1,079
Europe PMC, title or abstract, 2026-09-14
Human studies in ledger
13
10 randomized; study count, not efficacy proof
Approval
not approved
ChEMBL phase 3
Routes reported
intravenous, subcutaneous
from studies in this ledger
Studied in
Humans, Mice
18 primary studies in the evidence table
Reviewed by Adam Mirando, PharmD, on . What changed

What thymosin alpha-1 is, and what the trials found

Thymosin alpha-1 is a peptide in the immunomodulators & host defense class (thymic peptide; TLR-mediated immunomodulation). Europe PMC indexes 1,079 publications naming it or a listed alias in a title or abstract, including 65 randomized controlled trials and 61 clinical trials of any design, as of . The strongest evidence tier in that literature is human clinical trials.

This page reports what those studies state, sentence by sentence, with each statement tied to its source and labeled by the kind of evidence it is. It does not recommend use, and it does not translate study doses into anything personal.

What the evidence level means

Publication counts show what is indexed, not how strong the evidence is. The ledger below separates human clinical records from preclinical, analytical, and in-vitro work.

Human clinical studies in this ledger1310 randomized · 3 other human clinical
Evidence strengthNot yet assessedSeparate from evidence availability
Efficacy signalNot yet assessedRead the study result, not the tier alone

Interpretation boundary: An indexed publication count is a discovery measure. It does not establish efficacy, safety, approval, or a personal treatment plan.

Thymosin alpha-1 in two minutes

What it is. A 28-amino-acid immune-regulating peptide from the thymus, isolated in 1972 and sold synthetically as thymalfasin (Zadaxin). Approved in about 35 countries for hepatitis B and C and as an immune adjuvant; never approved in the United States, where it is a research chemical on FDA's compounding category 2 list.

What the research actually shows. 1,079 indexed publications and 65 randomized trials, more than any peptide on this site. The two largest and best-designed, 1,106 septic adults in 2025 and 508 with severe pancreatitis in 2022, found no benefit on their primary endpoints. A 2013 sepsis trial of 361 found a marginal mortality reduction; a 2006 hepatitis B trial found a sustained response of 48% against 27% for interferon; a 2018 cirrhosis trial found no difference in outcomes; cancer trials show immune-marker changes and small uncontrolled response signals.

Safety. In the large placebo-controlled trials, nothing differed from placebo. Better tolerated than interferon. Injection-site redness is the common complaint.

The dose. 1.6 mg subcutaneously, twice a week on the label and for months in hepatitis, or every 12 hours for a week in intensive care.

Where the evidence is thinnest. Everything it is bought for in the United States: immune support in healthy people, long COVID, Lyme disease and autoimmune conditions, none of which has a trial.

Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.

How it works

Written from general pharmacology and the development record, and marked as editorial synthesis; the measurements behind it are quoted in the biomarker section.

  • Thymosin alpha-1 is a 28-amino-acid acidic peptide, the N-terminal fragment of prothymosin alpha, first isolated from calf thymus fraction 5 by Allan Goldstein's group in 1972 and later made synthetically as thymalfasin. It is not a hormone in the classical sense: it acts on immune cells directly, above all on dendritic cells, through Toll-like receptors 2 and 9 and the MyD88 pathway, priming them toward a Th1, interferon-gamma response and, in other settings, toward tolerance through indoleamine 2,3-dioxygenase. That double action, stimulating against infection and tumour and restraining inflammation, is what its Italian investigators mean by calling it a regulator rather than a booster.Editorial synthesis
    Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
  • In people the measurable effects are on immune markers: faster recovery of monocyte HLA-DR in sepsis, higher CD4 counts and CD4/CD8 ratios in pancreatitis and after surgery, and, in hepatitis B, loss of viral DNA and e-antigen that continued after treatment stopped, which is read as an immune rather than an antiviral effect. Whether those marker changes translate into outcomes is the question the trials answer inconsistently: yes in a 2013 sepsis trial with a marginal result, no in the 2025 phase 3 built to confirm it, no on the primary endpoint in the 2022 pancreatitis trial with a positive subgroup afterwards.Editorial synthesis
    Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
  • What is not known is why the large trials failed where the small ones succeeded, whether any patient group benefits in intensive care, and what the peptide does in the healthy people who now inject it for 'immune support': every trial enrolled people who were seriously ill, and the immune markers it moves are abnormal in them to begin with.Editorial synthesis
    Editorial synthesis from general knowledge

Trial by trial: what thymosin alpha-1 did, and did not do

The randomized and controlled human studies in the ledger, largest first. Read the primary-endpoint column.

Human trials of thymosin alpha-1 (thymalfasin) in the ledger.
TrialParticipantsDose and durationPrimary endpointResult
TESTS (Wu 2025, BMJ)1,106 adults with sepsis, 22 Chinese ICUs1.6 mg SC every 12 h, 7 days, vs placebo28-day mortalityNo effect: 23.4% vs 24.1%; no secondary or safety outcome differed
TRACE (Ke 2022)508 adults with predicted severe necrotising pancreatitis, 94% in ICU1.6 mg SC every 12 h for 7 days then daily for 7, vs placeboInfected pancreatic necrosisNo effect: 15.7% vs 18.1%; no difference in organ failure
TRACE post hoc (Huang 2024)502 of the above, by metabolic subgroupAs aboveInfected necrosis at 90 daysBenefit in the hyperglycaemic subgroup only (18.8% vs 29.7%); hypothesis-generating
Colorectal cancer perioperative (Niu 2024)400 patients having curative resection with XELOX1.6 mg SC twice or three times a week, vs chemotherapy alonePerioperative immune function; long-term prognosisBoth schedules improved immune markers per the abstract; prognosis detail in full text
ETASS (Wu 2013)361 adults with severe sepsis, 6 Chinese hospitalsThymosin alpha-1 vs conventional care (single-blind)28-day mortality26.0% vs 35.0%, relative risk 0.74, marginal (p 0.049 to 0.062); HLA-DR recovered faster
Entecavir combination in cirrhosis (Wu 2018)351 with HBV-related compensated cirrhosisEntecavir with or without thymosin alpha-1; median 38 months follow-upDecompensation, liver cancer or deathNo difference; a trend to fewer liver cancers
COVID-19 prevention in dialysis (Tuthill 2023)194 haemodialysis patients, United StatesThymalfasin vs controlInfection and morbidity (preliminary report)3 deaths on treatment vs 7 in controls, 5 vs 7 serious events; preliminary, most participants vaccinated during the study
Hepatitis B vs interferon (You 2006)62 with chronic hepatitis B1.6 mg SC twice a week for 6 months, vs interferon alphaComplete response (ALT, HBV DNA, HBeAg)31% vs 45% at end of treatment; 48% vs 27% six months later (not significant); better tolerated
Gastric cancer neoadjuvant (Xu 2026)30 with stage III gastric cancer9 weeks with anti-PD-1 and SOX chemotherapyPathological complete response30% complete, 57% major response; single-arm, no control
Radiotherapy combinations (Yu 2025; Zhou 2026)37 and 34 with advanced or bulky tumoursTwice weekly with PD-1 inhibitor, GM-CSF and radiotherapyResponse and safetyResponse rates reported; single-arm; thymosin's contribution not separable
Severe acute pancreatitis pilot (Wang 2011)24 patients3.2 mg SC twice a day, 7 daysImmune markers; infectionFaster HLA-DR recovery; fewer positive cultures
Lung cancer chemoimmunotherapy (Garaci 1995)56 with advanced NSCLCWith cisplatin, etoposide and interferonResponse; immune markers24 responses; immune suppression by chemotherapy blunted; no control arm

The two trials that meet modern standards, double-blind, placebo-controlled, powered and pre-registered, are the negative ones. The approvals in 35 countries rest on the hepatitis work of the 1990s and 2000s, most of it not in this ledger, and on a regulatory culture that accepts immune-marker evidence.

Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.

What the evidence shows

One row per primary study in this record's ledger. Fields are read from each paper's indexing and abstract. "Analytical method" marks papers about detecting or measuring the compound rather than about its effects.

18 primary studies in this record's ledger, strongest evidence first. A dash means the abstract did not state the value.
StudyDesignnSpeciesDoseRouteDurationReported outcomeTier
Zhou 2026 Randomized controlled trial 34 Humans——0 months Among the 37 treatment courses in 34 patients, 4 patients did not complete the planned therapy, and 1 was lost to follow-up. Human clinical trial
Xu 2026 Phase 2 clinical trial — Humans——21 day; 9 weeks Flow cytometry showed expansion of CD8⁺ T cells with increased CD69 expression and a concurrent reduction in HLA-DR-positive T cells, suggesting dynamic remodeling from broad systemic activation toward a more focused… Human clinical trial
Yu 2025 Phase 2 clinical trial 6 Humans——14 days; 3 weeks Patients who achieved a partial response were significantly more likely to have an abscopal effect( P = 0.025). Human clinical trial
Wu 2025 Randomized controlled trial 552 Humans—subcutaneous85 years No secondary or safety outcome differed statistically significantly between the two groups. Human clinical trial
Huang 2024 Randomized controlled trial 502 Humans——— Tα1 therapy was associated with reduced incidence of IPN among patients with hyperglycemia (18.8% vs 29.7%: hazard ratio, 0.80; 95% confidence interval, 0.37 to 0.97; p=0.03), but not in the other subgroups. Human clinical trial
Niu 2024 Randomized controlled trial 100 Humans——— The conventional-dose and high-dose thymalfasin for injection effectively improves the perioperative immune function of CRC patients and reduces the incidence of postoperative complications, as an effective treatment… Human clinical trial
Tuthill 2023 Randomized controlled trial 194 Humans——8 weeks; 8 week In prior studies, thymalfasin (thymosin alpha 1, Ta1) has been shown to enhance antibody response to influenza vaccine and reduce influenza infection in geriatric populations, including hemodialysis patients, when used… Human clinical trial
Ke 2022 Randomized controlled trial 508 Humans——7 days There was no difference in other major complications, including new-onset organ failure (10.6% vs. 15%), bleeding (6.3% vs. 3.5%), and gastrointestinal fistula (2% vs. 2.4%). Human clinical trial
Wu 2018 Randomized controlled trial 351 Humans——52 weeks; 26 weeks There was no significant difference between two groups in endpoint events, while combination therapy with Ta-1 has a tendency to inhibit the development of HCC. Human clinical trial
Wu 2013 Randomized controlled trial 180 Humans——— Greater improvement of mHLA-DR was observed in the Tα1 group on day 3 (mean difference in mHLA-DR changes between the two groups was 3.9%, 95% CI 0.2 to 7.6%, P = 0.037) and day 7 (mean difference in mHLA-DR changes… Human clinical trial
Wang 2011 Randomized controlled trial 24 Humans——— The positive rates of blood and abdominal drainage culture were statistically significant during the 28th follow-up period. Human clinical trial
You 2006 Randomized controlled trial 30 Humans—subcutaneous12 mo; 6 mo Compared with the results observed in the historical control (HC) group untreated with IFN-alpha which was followed up for 12 mo, the rate of complete response was significantly higher in IFN-alpha group at the end of… Human clinical trial
Garaci 1995 Phase 3 clinical trial — Humans——3 weeks — Human clinical trial
Bistoni 1982 Animal study — Mice—intravenous— Significant resistance ot lethal infection was afforded by 100 micrograms of thymosin alpha 1 per kg given before or before and after challenge, whereas no protection was found in mice treated with thymosin alpha 1… Animal, preclinical
Liu 2025 In vitro study 330 Humans——— By targeting post-operative immune system imbalance, this study aims to establish a novel therapeutic approach for reducing systemic inflammatory response syndrome (SIRS)-mediated organ injury and improving long-term… Mechanistic, in vitro
Vitek 2025 In vitro study — ——subcutaneous2 weeks We initially selected specified ingredients, with ethanol serving to reduce viscosity and stabilize the peptide drug Tα1, lecithin contributing to LCCs formation and stabilization, and glycerol monooleate or glycerol… Mechanistic, in vitro
Ricci 2023 In vitro study 19 Humans——— Moving from ex vivo data showing an enhancement in the frequency of inflammatory monocytes and activated mDC in COVID-19 patients, a PBMC-based experimental setting reproduced in vitro a similar profile with an… Mechanistic, in vitro
Zhou 2020 In vitro study — Humans——90 days This study was designed to test the hypothesis that the administration of thymosin alpha 1 during the acute phase of ANP will result in a reduced incidence of IPN. Mechanistic, in vitro

Doses reported in studies

Each entry is a sentence quoted from the study's abstract, with the study's design, sample size and year in front of it. Comparator doses in the same sentence are not attributed to thymosin alpha-1.

  • In TESTS, 1,106 septic adults received 1.6 mg thymosin alpha-1 or placebo subcutaneously every 12 hours for seven days.Human clinical trial
    Source pmid-39814420
  • In the pancreatitis trial, 508 patients received 1.6 mg every 12 hours for seven days, then once daily for seven more.Human clinical trial
    Source pmid-35713670
  • In chronic hepatitis B, 1.6 mg twice a week for six months was compared with interferon alpha.Human clinical trial
    Source pmid-17075991
  • In severe acute pancreatitis, a pilot gave 3.2 mg twice a day for seven days.Human clinical trial
    Source pmid-20549321
  • In colorectal cancer surgery, 1.6 mg twice a week (conventional) or three times a week (high dose) alongside chemotherapy.Human clinical trial
    Source pmid-37248723
  • Mice were protected from lethal Candida infection by 100 micrograms.Animal, preclinical
    Source pmid-7085074

Every thymosin alpha-1 dose in the trials, in one table

Every figure here is a licensed or trial dose. Gray-market vials print the same 1.6 mg; the difference is what is in them.

Doses of thymosin alpha-1 administered in trials and on the label.
SettingRouteDoseSchedulePopulation
Zadaxin label (approving countries)Subcutaneous1.6 mgTwice a week, 6 to 12 monthsChronic hepatitis B and C
Hepatitis B trial (2006)Subcutaneous1.6 mgTwice a week, 6 monthsChronic hepatitis B
Sepsis phase 3 (2025); pancreatitis (2022)Subcutaneous1.6 mgEvery 12 hours for 7 days (then daily for 7 in pancreatitis)Intensive-care patients
Severe pancreatitis pilot (2011)Subcutaneous3.2 mgTwice a day, 7 days24 patients
Colorectal cancer (2024)Subcutaneous1.6 mgTwice or three times a week, perioperative400 surgical patients
Cancer combination trials (2025 to 2026)SubcutaneousNot stated in the abstractsTwice weekly; 9 weeksAdvanced or resectable tumours
Mice (1982)Intravenous100 microgramsSingleCandida infection model

Nothing on this page is an instruction to take anything. The point of the table is that the dose is not the variable: the same 1.6 mg failed in sepsis at one schedule and helped in hepatitis at another, and the vials sold in the United States carry the number without the licence, the pharmacist or the indication.

Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.

Side effects: what randomized trials of 1,100 people recorded

From randomized placebo-controlled trials with hundreds of participants: no safety outcome differed from placebo in the sepsis or pancreatitis trials, and hepatitis trials called it better tolerated than interferon. Injection-site redness is the common complaint. Events and their frequency as each study reported them, with the denominator where the abstract gives one.

  • In the 1,106-person sepsis phase 3, no secondary or safety outcome differed from placebo.Human clinical trial
    Source pmid-39814420
  • In the pancreatitis trial there was no difference in other major complications, including new organ failure.Human clinical trial
    Source pmid-35713670
  • In hepatitis B it was better tolerated than interferon alpha.Human clinical trial
    Source pmid-17075991
  • Both entecavir alone and with thymosin alpha-1 were well tolerated over two years in cirrhosis.Human clinical trial
    Source pmid-30063860
  • Across the randomized trials, the licensed dose has one of the cleanest tolerability records on this site: the common complaint is redness at the injection site, and hepatitis trials chose it over interferon partly because it lacks interferon's flu-like effects. The label's contraindications, deliberate immunosuppression after transplant and hypersensitivity, come from its mechanism rather than from trial events. What the trials could not show is a benefit to justify the dose in the two conditions they tested most rigorously.Editorial synthesis
    Editorial synthesis from general knowledge · primary document to be added to the ledger

Who thymosin alpha-1 is discussed for, and the cautions that recur

Licensed for: chronic hepatitis B and C, and as an immune adjuvant, in about 35 countries. Trialled in: sepsis, severe pancreatitis, cancer alongside chemotherapy or radiotherapy, cirrhosis, dialysis patients during COVID-19. Community: people seeking immune support, and people with long COVID, Lyme disease, chronic fatigue or autoimmune disease.

The cautions come from the label's contraindications and from where the evidence stops:

  • Deliberate immunosuppression. The label excludes transplant recipients on immunosuppressants: a drug that primes T cells works against the treatment.
  • Autoimmune disease. Not a trial population and a mechanistic concern; forum reports of flares match the prediction. The label's regulator, not a vendor, is the source to read.
  • Healthy people. Every trial enrolled the seriously ill, whose immune markers were abnormal. What the peptide does to a normal immune system over months is unstudied.
  • Expecting the sepsis or pancreatitis result. Both large trials were negative; a clinic citing 'sepsis trials' is citing the 2013 result and not the 2025 one.
  • Cancer. Trials used it as an adjunct to chemotherapy, immunotherapy or radiotherapy in supervised settings; it is not a cancer treatment on its own and no trial tested it as one.
  • Pregnancy and children. Not studied in the ledger's trials.

Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.

Biomarkers measured in studies

Laboratory and clinical measures the studies report tracking, including which hormones did and did not change.

  • Phase 2 clinical trial humans 2026 Human clinical trial
    Treatment included three 21-day cycles of serplulimab (anti-PD-1) plus SOX (S-1 and oxaliplatin) and 9 weeks of thymalfasin, followed by curative gastrectomy.
    Source pmid-41749205 · quoted verbatim from the abstract
  • In vitro study humans n = 19 2023 Mechanistic, in vitro
    The peculiar property of Thymosin alpha 1 (Tα1) to act as master regulator of immune homeostasis has been successfully defined in different physiological and pathological contexts ranging from cancer to infection.
    Source pmid-36933449 · quoted verbatim from the abstract

Reported interactions

Sentences in which the compound is studied alongside another agent. Read the quotation: the word interaction can also be statistical.

  • Phase 2 clinical trial humans 2026 Human clinical trial
    We conducted a phase II trial to evaluate anti-PD-1 plus SOX (S-1 and oxaliplatin) immunochemotherapy combined with thymalfasin as neoadjuvant treatment for G/EGJ adenocarcinoma.
    Source pmid-41749205 · quoted verbatim from the abstract

Reported timelines

Onset, peak and duration figures as each study reported them.

  • In the 2013 sepsis trial, the monocyte HLA-DR marker of immune recovery improved faster by day 3 on treatment.Human clinical trial
    Source pmid-23327199
  • In hepatitis B, response continued to rise after treatment ended: 31% at six months of therapy, 48% six months later.Human clinical trial
    Source pmid-17075991
  • The 2020 protocol's primary endpoint was infected pancreatic necrosis during the index admission.Human clinical trial
    Source pmid-32994239

What is measured over time, and what is not

The peptide clears in about two hours, by the label, and its effects are measured in days and months. In sepsis the immune marker HLA-DR recovered faster by day 3 and mortality was counted at 28 days, where the large trial found nothing. In pancreatitis the outcome was infected necrosis over the index admission and 90 days. In hepatitis B the response kept rising for six months after treatment ended, the clearest sign that the effect is immune rather than directly antiviral. The cirrhosis trial followed people for 38 months and found no difference in hard outcomes. Nothing has been measured in healthy people over any period, so 'how long until I feel it' has no answer in the literature; the trials did not ask how anyone felt.

Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.

Study durations

Treatment and follow-up periods as stated in each abstract.

  • Seven days of twice-daily injection in the sepsis phase 3, with 28-day mortality as the endpoint.Human clinical trial
    Source pmid-39814420
  • Fourteen days in the pancreatitis trial; six months in the hepatitis B trial; a median 38 months of follow-up in the cirrhosis trial.Human clinical trial
    Source pmid-30063860
  • Nine weeks of thymalfasin with three chemotherapy cycles before gastrectomy.Human clinical trial
    Source pmid-41749205

Routes: subcutaneous injection in every trial and on the label

Subcutaneous injection in every human trial and in the licensed product. Nothing else has been studied in people; the intravenous route appears only in a 1982 mouse study. Routes of administration named in each study.

  • Randomized controlled trial humans n = 552 2025 Human clinical trial
    administration by subcutaneous route reported
    A stratified block method was used for randomisation, and participants were stratified by age ( Interventions Subcutaneous injection of thymosin α1 or placebo every 12 hours for seven days unless discontinued owing to discharge from the intensive care unit, death, or withdrawal of consent.
    Source pmid-39814420 · quoted verbatim from the abstract
  • Randomized controlled trial humans n = 30 2006 Human clinical trial
    administration by subcutaneous route reported
    The patients in group A received subcutaneous injection of 1.6 mg thymosin-alpha1, twice a week (T-alpha1 group) for six months, and the patients in group B received 5 MU interferon alpha (IFN-alpha) each day for fifteen days, then three times weekly (IFN-alpha group) for six months.
    Source pmid-17075991 · quoted verbatim from the abstract
  • Animal study mice 1982 Animal, preclinical
    administration by intravenous route reported
    Two- to four-month-old mice were treated with graded doses of thymosin alpha 1 before, after, or before and after intravenous challenge with C. albicans.
    Source pmid-7085074 · quoted verbatim from the abstract
  • In vitro study 2025 Mechanistic, in vitro
    administration by subcutaneous route reported
    In this study, we thus aimed to exploit the potential of a liquid crystalline platform for the sustained release of peptide drug thymosin alpha 1 (Tα1), characterized by a short plasma half-life and with that associated twice-weekly SC administration regimen.
    Source pmid-40066714 · quoted verbatim from the abstract

What people report outside the literature

Forum reports describe use for 'immune support', long COVID, Lyme disease, chronic fatigue and autoimmune conditions, at the licensed dose from unlicensed vials. None of those uses has a trial behind it. What circulates in user communities and clinic marketing, reported so a reader knows the figures and their origin. None of it has been tested in a trial, and none of it is a suggestion.

  • Thymosin alpha-1 circulates as 'TA1', injected subcutaneously at the licensed 1.6 mg once or twice a week, for immune support, frequent infections, long COVID, Lyme disease, chronic fatigue, mould illness and autoimmune conditions, often through functional-medicine clinics as well as research-chemical vendors. Reports describe fewer colds, more energy, a transient flu-like day after injection, and frequently no noticeable effect; some with autoimmune disease report flares, which is the direction the mechanism predicts. None of these uses has a trial. The dose people use is the licensed dose, so the question with a gray-market vial is not the number on it but what is in it.Editorial synthesis
    Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
Method note · shared across compounds

Reconstitution mathematics

Lyophilised peptide is supplied as a mass in a vial and dissolved in a stated volume of diluent. Two figures follow from that and nothing else:

  • Concentration = mass in vial ÷ diluent volume. A 5 mg vial in 2 mL is 2.5 mg/mL, or 2,500 mcg/mL.
  • Volume for a given mass = that mass ÷ concentration. 250 mcg at 2,500 mcg/mL is 0.1 mL. On a U-100 insulin syringe, where 1 mL is 100 units, that is 10 units.

Study doses on this page are quoted as published, in the units the authors used. Converting between mcg, mg and IU, or between a mass and a syringe volume, is arithmetic; deciding a mass is not, and this page does not do it. The reconstitution calculator performs the conversion with the formula shown.

Method note · shared across compounds

Reading a certificate of analysis

A certificate of analysis is a laboratory report on one batch. Reading it means checking four things in order.

  1. Identity. Mass spectrometry should report an observed molecular mass matching the peptide's theoretical mass within the instrument's stated tolerance. A certificate with no mass spectrometry, or one that lists only the expected value, has not confirmed identity.
  2. Purity. HPLC purity is the area of the main peak as a share of all peaks, at a stated wavelength. It says nothing about what the other peaks are, and it is not a measure of quantity.
  3. Quantity. Net peptide content, by amino acid analysis or UV, is the fraction of the vial's mass that is peptide rather than counter-ions and water. A 5 mg vial at 80% net content holds 4 mg of peptide, and every concentration figure above changes accordingly.
  4. Provenance. The batch number on the certificate should match the vial, the laboratory should be named and independent of the seller, and the test date should be recent.

This page rates no supplier and links to none. It describes how to read the document.

Method note · shared across compounds

Equipment described in studies

Published human studies of injectable peptides report the same small set of materials: single-use insulin syringes with fixed needles, most often U-100 with 29 to 31 gauge needles; bacteriostatic water or sterile water for injection as diluent, with the choice stated in the methods; alcohol swabs; and refrigerated storage of reconstituted solution. Animal studies more often report intraperitoneal or intragastric administration and state the vehicle used. Where a study in this record's ledger names its materials or vehicle, that sentence appears under storage or routes above; where it does not, nothing is assumed here.

Storage and handling

The licensed product is supplied as a lyophilised powder with a diluent, stored refrigerated and reconstituted immediately before subcutaneous injection, under instructions in the approving countries' product information. Vials sold in the United States are not that product; their content and stability are unverified.

Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.

Common mistakes in how thymosin alpha-1 is discussed

  1. Citing '35 countries' as if it settled efficacy. The approvals are for hepatitis B and C and as an adjuvant, from older evidence; the largest modern trials, in intensive care, were negative.
  2. Quoting the 2013 sepsis trial without the 2025 one. ETASS found a marginal benefit in 361 patients; TESTS found none in 1,106. The second was designed to confirm the first.
  3. Confusing it with TB-500. Different thymosin, different molecule, different purpose, and TB-500 has no human trial. The shared word comes from the 1970s thymus extracts.
  4. Treating immune-marker changes as clinical benefit. HLA-DR, CD4 counts and cytokine shifts move reliably; mortality and infection rates did not in the trials built to test them.
  5. Reading the FDA category 2 listing as a safety verdict. It was a compounding decision about evidence sufficiency for US pharmacies, made about a drug licensed elsewhere; the safety record in trials is clean.
  6. Assuming a vial equals Zadaxin. The licensed product has a manufacturer, a regulator and a pharmacist; a research-chemical vial has a label.

Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.

Thymosin alpha-1 vs TB-500 (thymosin beta-4), LL-37 and interferon

Thymosin alpha-1 beside the compounds it is confused or compared with, from their own records where one exists.
CompoundWhat it isHuman evidenceStatus
Thymosin alpha-128-amino-acid immune-regulating peptide; 1,079 indexed publications65 randomized trials; two large negative ICU trials; hepatitis approvalsApproved in about 35 countries; not in the US; FDA category 2 (2023)
TB-500Fragment of thymosin beta-4, an actin-binding repair protein; 1257 indexed publications14 human studies of the fragment in its ledger; thymosin beta-4 itself in small trialsNot approved; WADA S2
LL-37Human antimicrobial peptide of the innate immune system; 2826 indexed publications23 human studies in its ledger, none as a treatmentNot approved; research chemical
Interferon alphaThe comparator in the hepatitis B trialDecades of trials; approved for hepatitis and cancers; flu-like toxicityApproved worldwide; no record on this site
BPC-157Gastric repair pentadecapeptide often stacked with TA1; 228 indexed publications2 small uncontrolled human studiesNot approved; WADA S0

The search 'thymosin alpha 1 vs thymosin beta 4' compares an approved immune drug with an unapproved repair fragment that shares a word. The comparison with interferon is the one that was actually run, and thymosin alpha-1 won it on tolerability and lost on end-of-treatment response.

Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.

Exclusion criteria in studies

Who each trial excluded, as stated in the abstract.

  • In vitro study humans 2020 Mechanistic, in vitro
    520 eligible patients with ANP will be randomised in a 1:1 ratio to receive either the thymosin alpha 1 or the placebo using the same mode of administration.
    Source pmid-32994239 · quoted verbatim from the abstract

Other compounds in its class

Same class in the registry: LL-37. Each row shows what that compound's own record states; nothing is inferred across rows.

2 compounds in the immunomodulators & host defense class. Each row states what that compound's own record says; nothing is inferred across rows.
CompoundTierPublicationsRCTsRecord
Thymosin alpha-1 Human clinical trial 1,079 65 draft
LL-37 Human clinical trial 2,826 38 draft

Regulatory status: approved in 35 countries, not in the United States, and on FDA's category 2 list

Registry facts only. Jurisdiction-level status, compounding categories and sport prohibitions need their own cited documents before they appear here.

  • Approved as thymalfasin (Zadaxin, SciClone) in about 35 countries, including China, Italy and much of Asia and Latin America, for chronic hepatitis B and C and as an immune adjuvant in some cancers and vaccination; the licensed dose is 1.6 mg subcutaneously twice a week. Never approved in the United States: applications for hepatitis C and melanoma did not succeed, and in September 2023 FDA placed thymosin alpha-1 in category 2 of the interim 503A bulk-substances list, barring compounding pharmacies from making it; press reports in 2026 describe a possible further review. In the United States it is therefore a research chemical with a foreign licence, which is the position of no other compound on this site. Not named on the WADA Prohibited List, and as an approved medicine abroad it does not fall under S0 automatically; athletes should check. The ChEMBL record shows no first_approval because it is not FDA-approved, so this record's tier was set by the trial evidence rather than the approval.Editorial synthesis
    Editorial synthesis from general knowledge · primary document to be added to the ledger

Open questions and limitations

What is genuinely unknown, stated plainly. A missing field is not evidence that the outcome is safe, effective, or established.

  • Why the two largest, best-designed trials (sepsis 2025, pancreatitis 2022) were negative while older and smaller trials were positive is unexplained.
  • The hepatitis C trials and the 1990s hepatitis B trials behind the foreign approvals are not in the ledger; the Zadaxin product information and FDA's 2023 notice are cited editorially.
  • No trial has studied thymosin alpha-1 in healthy people or for any community use (immune support, long COVID, Lyme disease, autoimmune disease).

Questions people ask

What is the half-life of thymosin alpha-1?

About two hours in plasma after subcutaneous injection, by the Zadaxin product information, with peak levels one to two hours after the dose. The immune effects the trials measured lasted days to weeks, which is why the licensed schedule is twice a week and the intensive-care trials dosed every 12 hours for a week. No abstract in the ledger states the half-life; the figure comes from the label, which is not yet a ledger source.

Does thymosin alpha-1 help long COVID?

No trial has tested it for long COVID. During the pandemic it was tried for acute COVID-19, mostly in Chinese observational studies and one small randomized pilot in dialysis patients whose preliminary report counted 3 deaths on treatment against 7 without; a 2023 cell study described effects on innate inflammatory responses. None of that is a long-COVID result.

What is thymosin alpha-1?

Thymosin alpha-1 is a 28-amino-acid peptide first isolated from calf thymus by Allan Goldstein in 1972 and made synthetically as thymalfasin, sold as Zadaxin. It acts on dendritic cells and T cells through Toll-like receptors to shift immune responses, and is approved in about 35 countries for chronic hepatitis B and C and as an immune adjuvant. It is not approved in the United States, where it circulates as a research chemical and was placed on FDA's compounding category 2 list in 2023.

How does thymosin alpha-1 make you feel?

In the trials, mostly nothing noticeable: the placebo-controlled sepsis and pancreatitis trials found no symptom or safety outcome that differed from placebo, and hepatitis trials reported it better tolerated than interferon, whose flu-like effects it lacks. Forum reports describe injection-site redness, occasional fatigue or a 'flu-ish' day after a dose, and, often, no felt effect at all.

Is thymosin alpha-1 the same as TB-500?

No. Thymosin alpha-1 is a 28-amino-acid immune-modulating peptide with 65 randomized trials and approvals in 35 countries. TB-500 is a fragment of thymosin beta-4, a 43-amino-acid actin-binding protein studied for tissue repair, with no human trial of the fragment. They share the word thymosin because both were first isolated from thymus extracts in the 1970s, and nothing else.

Is thymosin alpha-1 FDA approved?

No. Thymalfasin (Zadaxin) is approved in about 35 countries for chronic hepatitis B and C and as an immune adjuvant, but never in the United States, where applications for hepatitis C and melanoma did not succeed. In September 2023 FDA placed it in category 2 of the compounding bulk-substances list, barring pharmacies from compounding it; press reports in 2026 describe a possible further review.

What is the dose of thymosin alpha-1?

The licensed dose is 1.6 mg by subcutaneous injection twice a week, for six to twelve months in hepatitis. Intensive-care trials used 1.6 mg every 12 hours for seven days, a pancreatitis pilot used 3.2 mg twice daily, and a cancer trial compared twice- and three-times-weekly 1.6 mg. Vendor vials print the licensed figure.

Does thymosin alpha-1 work for sepsis?

The best evidence says no. The 2025 TESTS phase 3 in 1,106 septic adults found 28-day mortality of 23.4% on thymosin alpha-1 against 24.1% on placebo, with no secondary or safety outcome differing. The 2013 ETASS trial of 361 had found a marginal reduction (26% vs 35%), which TESTS was designed to confirm and did not.

Does thymosin alpha-1 work for hepatitis B?

In the 2006 randomized trial against interferon alpha, 48% of thymosin-treated patients had a complete response six months after a six-month course, against 27% on interferon, a difference that did not reach significance in 62 patients, with better tolerability. In HBV cirrhosis, adding it to entecavir for two years changed no hard outcome. The approvals in 35 countries rest mainly on hepatitis trials of the 1990s and 2000s.

What are the side effects of thymosin alpha-1?

In the 1,106-person sepsis trial no safety outcome differed from placebo, and the pancreatitis and cirrhosis trials reported the same. It is better tolerated than interferon, lacking its flu-like effects. Injection-site redness is the common complaint; the label's contraindications are deliberate immunosuppression and hypersensitivity.

Who should not take thymosin alpha-1?

By the label, people deliberately immunosuppressed after organ transplantation, and anyone hypersensitive to it. By the evidence, anyone expecting a benefit outside hepatitis: the community uses, including autoimmune disease, have no trials and, for autoimmunity, a mechanism pointing the wrong way.

Is thymosin alpha-1 the same as TB-500 or thymosin beta-4?

No. Thymosin alpha-1 is a 28-amino-acid immune regulator with 65 randomized trials and foreign approvals; TB-500 is a fragment of thymosin beta-4, a 43-amino-acid actin-binding protein studied for tissue repair, with no human trial of the fragment. They share a name from 1970s thymus extracts and nothing else.

What is the half-life of thymosin alpha-1?

About two hours in plasma after subcutaneous injection, by the Zadaxin product information, with peak levels at one to two hours. The immune effects last days to weeks, which is why the licensed schedule is twice weekly. The figure is from the label, not from an abstract in the ledger.

Does thymosin alpha-1 help with COVID-19 or long COVID?

For acute COVID-19, Chinese observational studies and a small US randomized pilot in dialysis patients (preliminary: 3 deaths on treatment vs 7 without, most participants vaccinated during the study) exist, plus cell studies of innate immune effects. For long COVID, no study at all.

Does thymosin alpha-1 treat cancer?

Not on its own, and no trial has tested it that way. It has been given alongside chemotherapy, PD-1 inhibitors and radiotherapy in single-arm trials of 30 to 56 patients with encouraging response rates in which its contribution cannot be separated, and in a 400-patient surgical trial it improved perioperative immune markers. The 2018 cirrhosis trial saw a trend to fewer liver cancers without a change in outcomes.

Is thymosin alpha-1 banned in sport?

It is not named on the WADA Prohibited List, and as a medicine approved abroad it does not fall under the S0 catch-all for unapproved substances the way most research peptides do. The list changes yearly; an athlete should check it and their own federation's rules.

Why is a drug approved in 35 countries sold as a research chemical in the United States?

Because approval is national. SciClone never obtained US approval, so there is no US product, and the only US route, compounding, was closed by FDA's September 2023 category 2 decision. What is sold in the US is therefore an unlicensed copy of a licensed foreign drug, with no pharmacist, indication or quality control attached.

Sources

Full citations. Every claim above links to one of these by its id.

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
Show the remaining 12 sources
  1. 13
  2. 14
  3. 15
  4. 16
  5. 17
  6. 18
  7. 19
  8. 20
    Immunodeficiency and cancer: prospects for correction.
    pmid-12860163 · · peer-reviewed
  9. 21
  10. 22
  11. 23
  12. 24

Reference card

Reference card · generated /compounds/thymosin-alpha-1
Compound
Thymosin alpha-1, immunomodulators and host defense
Evidence tier
Human clinical trial
Indexed publications
1,079 · 65 RCTs · 61 other clinical trials
Approval
not approved · max phase 3
Routes reported
intravenous, subcutaneous
Reviewed
Adam Mirando, PharmD,

Study figures are as published in each source and are not recommendations. Print or save this card with its date.

Last reviewed and what changed

Newest first. These are the record's own revision dates, and the same dates feed the sitemap.

  1. · Reviewed by Adam Mirando, PharmD, on 2026-09-29.
  2. · Written under the sequencing rule after research/intents/thymosin-alpha-1.json: guide (8 sections incl. a twelve-trial table with verdicts), FAQ to 12 plus 6 from the map, dose, duration, timeline and adverse-event claims from the abstracts, mechanism, reported-use, regulatory (approved in 35 countries, not the US, FDA category 2) with pending_source; a hepatitis study of nucleic acid polymers using thymosin as a comparator removed from the evidence table; intent-driven H1 and title.
  3. · Claims drafted extractively from 24 ledger sources by scripts/draft_claims.py: 19 claims, 19 evidence-table rows. Status researched -> draft.
  4. · Claims drafted extractively from 24 ledger sources by scripts/draft_claims.py: 36 claims, 19 evidence-table rows. Status researched -> draft.
  5. · Metadata refreshed by scripts/fetch_evidence.py --refresh-meta: chembl None -> CHEMBL2103979.
  6. · Evidence fetched from Europe PMC and ChEMBL by scripts/fetch_evidence.py; claims not yet written.