SS-31 (elamipretide) peptide: the trials behind the 2025 approval, the trials that missed, and what the gray-market use rests on
What 493 indexed publications and 16 randomized trials actually state about ss-31, sentence by sentence, each tied to its source and labeled by the kind of evidence it is.
At a glance
What SS-31 is, and why it is also called elamipretide and Forzinity
SS-31 is a peptide in the mitochondrial peptides class (cardiolipin-binding, inner-membrane targeted). Europe PMC indexes 493 publications naming it or a listed alias in a title or abstract, including 16 randomized controlled trials and 14 clinical trials of any design, as of . The strongest evidence tier in that literature is human clinical trials.
This page reports what those studies state, sentence by sentence, with each statement tied to its source and labeled by the kind of evidence it is. It does not recommend use, and it does not translate study doses into anything personal.
What the evidence level means
Publication counts show what is indexed, not how strong the evidence is. The ledger below separates human clinical records from preclinical, analytical, and in-vitro work.
Interpretation boundary: An indexed publication count is a discovery measure. It does not establish efficacy, safety, approval, or a personal treatment plan.
SS-31 in two minutes
What it is. The research name of elamipretide, a synthetic four-amino-acid peptide that binds cardiolipin in the inner mitochondrial membrane. Since 19 September 2025 it has been an FDA-approved medicine, Forzinity, for muscle strength in Barth syndrome.
What the research actually shows. 493 indexed publications and 16 randomized trials. In Barth syndrome, a 12-patient crossover trial missed its primary endpoints in the randomized phase, then showed sustained gains in walking distance and heart volumes over 168 weeks of open-label treatment, and beat a natural-history comparison group; that is the approval. In mitochondrial myopathy, a 218-patient phase 3 trial found no effect on either primary endpoint. In heart failure and two eye diseases, primary endpoints were missed.
Dose in the trials. 40 mg once daily by subcutaneous injection, for 4 to 168 weeks; the first trial used intravenous infusion by body weight.
Safety record. Injection-site reactions in up to 80% of treated participants, mostly mild; nothing else has separated from placebo across the programme.
Where the evidence is thinnest. The gray-market use. One trial gave healthy older adults a single infusion: muscle ATP capacity rose for hours and fatigue did not change. No study has tested months of use in anyone without a mitochondrial disease, or the pairing with MOTS-c.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
How SS-31 works: cardiolipin, not antioxidant scavenging
Written from general pharmacology and the development record, and marked as editorial synthesis; the measurements behind it are quoted in the biomarker section.
- Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
- Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
- Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
Trial by trial: what elamipretide did and did not do
Every human study in the ledger, with its verdict in the last column. Read the primary-endpoint column before the open-label one.
| Trial | Population | Dose and duration | Primary endpoint | Result |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MMPOWER-3 (Karaa 2023) | 218 adults with primary mitochondrial myopathy | 40 mg/day SC, 24 weeks | 6-minute walk; fatigue score | Missed both. Walk distance -3.2 m vs placebo; well tolerated |
| Older-adult trial (Roshanravan 2021) | 39 healthy adults aged 60 to 85 with poorly functioning muscle mitochondria | Single 2-hour IV infusion | Muscle ATP capacity | Met, transiently. ATPmax up immediately, gone by day 7; no effect on fatigue resistance |
| MMPOWER (Karaa 2018) | 36 adults with primary mitochondrial myopathy | IV 0.01, 0.1 or 0.25 mg/kg/h for 2 h, 5 days | 6-minute walk at day 5 | Borderline. Highest dose +64.5 m vs +20.4 m placebo (p 0.053); dose-response significant |
| MMPOWER-2 (Karaa 2020) | 30 adults with primary mitochondrial myopathy | 40 mg/day SC, 4 weeks, crossover | 6-minute walk | Missed (+19.8 m, p 0.08); fatigue scores improved; injection-site reactions 80% |
| EMBRACE substudy (Hortmann 2019) | 19 patients after heart attack, 10 treated | Not stated in abstract | Serum HtrA2 (biomarker) | Biomarker fell; no clinical outcome |
| TAZPOWER (Reid Thompson 2021) | 12 males with Barth syndrome | 40 mg/day SC, 12 weeks each arm, crossover | 6-minute walk; symptom score | Missed both in the randomized phase; at 36 weeks open-label +95.9 m and better symptoms |
| TAZPOWER extension (Thompson 2024) | 10 entered, 8 completed | 40 mg/day SC, 168 weeks | Safety | Well tolerated; cumulative +96.1 m walk; heart volumes improved; cardiolipin ratio improved |
| Natural-history comparison (Hornby 2022) | 8 treated vs 19 untreated Barth patients | 40 mg/day SC | 6-minute walk at 64 and 76 weeks | +79.7 m and +91.0 m vs untreated; strength up. Not randomized |
| LHON eye drops (Karanjia 2024) | 12 adults with Leber hereditary optic neuropathy | 1% topical, 52 weeks, one or both eyes | Visual acuity | Missed; well tolerated; post hoc visual-field signal |
| Expanded access (Koenig 2023; Ansari 2024; Ortmann 2025) | Children under 12; two adults with eye-predominant disorders; one newborn | Newborn: IV 0.25 then 0.5 mg/kg daily, then SC | None (case reports) | Reported improvements; no controls |
Two trials the ledger does not yet hold complete the record: PROGRESS-HF in heart failure (no change in left-ventricular volume at 28 days) and ReCLAIM-2 in dry macular degeneration (primary endpoints missed, per the sponsor). Neither produced an approval.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
What the evidence shows
One row per primary study in this record's ledger. Fields are read from each paper's indexing and abstract. "Analytical method" marks papers about detecting or measuring the compound rather than about its effects.
| Study | Design | n | Species | Dose | Route | Duration | Reported outcome | Tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gwaltney 2025 | Randomized controlled trial | 12 | Humans | — | subcutaneous | — | — | Human clinical trial |
| Karaa 2024 | Randomized controlled trial | — | Humans | — | — | — | The mtDNA replisome post-hoc cohort displayed an improvement on the 6MWT, trending towards significant, in the elamipretide group when compared with placebo (25.2 ± 8.7 m versus 2.0 ± 8.6 m for placebo group; p = 0.06). | Human clinical trial |
| Thompson 2024 | Randomized controlled trial | — | Humans | 40 mg | subcutaneous | 28 week; 168 week | Elamipretide was associated with sustained long-term tolerability and efficacy, with improvements in functional assessments and cardiac function in BTHS. | Human clinical trial |
| Karanjia 2024 | Randomized controlled trial | 12 | Humans | — | topical | 52 week; 52 weeks | The change from baseline in BCVA in elamipretide-treated eyes was not significantly different from the vehicle eyes at any time point. | Human clinical trial |
| Karaa 2023 | Randomized controlled trial | 218 | Humans | 40 mg/d | subcutaneous | 24 weeks | Discussion Subcutaneous elamipretide treatment did not improve outcomes in the 6MWT and PMMSA TFS in patients with PMM. | Human clinical trial |
| Van 2023 | Randomized controlled trial | 12 | Humans | — | — | — | — | Human clinical trial |
| Koenig 2023 | Clinical trial | — | Humans | — | — | 12 years | In clinical trials, elamipretide produced clinical and functional improvements in adults and adolescents with mitochondrial disorders, such as primary mitochondrial myopathy and Barth syndrome; however, experience in… | Human clinical trial |
| Hornby 2022 | Phase 3 clinical trial | 8 | Humans | 40 mg daily | — | — | Significant improvements in muscle strength (secondary endpoint), as assessed by handheld dynamometry (HHD) were also observed with elamipretide, with LS mean differences of 40.8 Newtons at 64 weeks (P = 0.0002) and… | Human clinical trial |
| Roshanravan 2021 | Randomized controlled trial | — | Humans | — | — | — | No difference was found on day 7 after treatment, which is consistent with the half-life of ELAM in human blood. | Human clinical trial |
| Reid 2021 | Randomized controlled trial | 12 | Humans | 40 mg per day | — | 12 weeks; 4 week | In this interventional clinical trial in BTHS, daily administration of elamipretide led to improvement in BTHS symptoms. | Human clinical trial |
| Karaa 2020 | Randomized controlled trial | 30 | Humans | 40 mg/day | subcutaneous | 4 weeks; 4 week | Participants who received a short-course treatment of daily SC elamipretide for 4 weeks experienced a clinically meaningful change in the 6MWT, which did not achieve statistical significance as the primary endpoint of… | Human clinical trial |
| Hortmann 2019 | Randomized controlled trial | 19 | Humans | — | — | — | Elamipretide significantly reduced the HtrA2 median serum level after myocardial infarction 1805.5 (981.3-2220.1) pg/mL vs. 496.5 (379.4-703.8) pg/mL ( P ⩽0.05). | Human clinical trial |
| Karaa 2018 | Randomized controlled trial | 36 | Humans | — | intravenous | 5 days | In addition, there was a dose-dependent increase in distance walked on the 6MWT with elamipretide treatment ( p = 0.014). | Human clinical trial |
| Duan 2025 | Human study | — | Humans | — | — | — | Additionally, SS-31 reduced NOS2 expression by 50%, highlighting its therapeutic potential in age-related bone loss. | Observational, human |
| Ortmann 2025 | Case report | — | Humans | 0.25 mg/kg; 0.5 mg/kg | intravenous, oral, subcutaneous | — | On day of life (DOL) 34, therapy with daily IV elamipretide (0.25 mg/kg increased to 0.5 mg/kg on DOL39) began, followed by standard-of-care oral heart failure medications. | Observational, human |
| Ansari 2024 | Human study | — | Humans | — | — | — | Elamipretide was well tolerated and both patients demonstrated improvement in symptoms while on therapy. | Observational, human |
| Yang 2026 | Animal study | — | Mice | — | — | — | Co-administration of SS-31 and NMN significantly attenuated post-ischemic brain damage and ameliorated neurological deficits (P < 0.0001), demonstrating effects markedly superior to either monotherapy. | Animal, preclinical |
| Xiong 2026 | Animal study | — | Mice | — | — | — | Mechanistically, single-cell transcriptome analysis reveals that SS-31 increased the maternal mRNA degradation, and the levels of genes associated with mitochondrial function and mitophagy in aged oocytes, such as… | Animal, preclinical |
| Vieira 2026 | Animal study | — | Mice | — | — | — | We therefore tested whether elamipretide, a synthetic cardiolipin-binding peptide, could improve mitochondrial function and cardiolipin levels in βTFP-deficient mice and patient-derived fibroblasts. | Animal, preclinical |
| Jiang 2026 | Animal study | — | Rats, Mice | — | — | — | Treatment with SS-31 substantially improved survival rates, reduced neurological deficits, and lowered serum NSE and S100B levels. | Animal, preclinical |
| Kan 2025 | Animal study | — | Rats | — | — | — | SS-31 pretreatment attenuated eGC degradation, reduced neuroinflammation, and restored PSD-95 levels, suggesting its potential protective role. eGC degradation is a key intermediary linking systemic inflammation to… | Animal, preclinical |
| Nguyen 2025 | Animal study | — | Swine | — | — | — | Oocytes cultured in medium with 1 µM SS-31 exhibited higher maturation and blastocyst formation rates than the control (0 µM) (78.3 ± 3.8% vs. 55.2 ± 4.1% and 7.6 ± 1.6% vs. 2.8 ± 1.8%, respectively). | Animal, preclinical |
| Nie 2023 | Animal study | — | Mice | — | — | — | Impressively, the expression percentage of IL-1β and IL-18 was downregulated to lower than half with SS-31 treatment. | Animal, preclinical |
| Fan 2026 | In vitro study | — | — | — | — | 3 days | SS-31 also prevented increases in the p16, p21, and SASP markers and mitigated mitochondrial ROS production. | Mechanistic, in vitro |
| Pharaoh 2023 | In vitro study | — | — | — | — | — | Protein abundance in the ADP/ATP transport and synthesis pathway was unchanged, but ELAM treatment decreased protein s-glutathionylation incuding of ANT. | Mechanistic, in vitro |
Doses reported in studies
Each entry is a sentence quoted from the study's abstract, with the study's design, sample size and year in front of it. Comparator doses in the same sentence are not attributed to ss-31.
- Doses stated in the abstract: 40 mg
Patients entering the OLE continued elamipretide 40 mg subcutaneous daily.
Sourcepmid-38602181· quoted verbatim from the abstract, emphasis added - Doses stated in the abstract: 40 mg/d
After screening, eligible participants were randomized 1:1 to receive either 24 weeks of elamipretide at a dose of 40 mg/d or placebo subcutaneously.
Sourcepmid-37268435· quoted verbatim from the abstract, emphasis added - Doses stated in the abstract: 40 mg daily
A phase 3, observational, retrospective, and non-interventional study was designed to establish a natural history control (NHC) cohort of patients with Barth syndrome (BTHS) to provide further analysis of the efficacy of elamipretide observed in an open-label extension (OLE) phase of the TAZPOWER trial, a clinical trial that tested the efficacy of 40 mg daily of elamipretide in patients with BTHS.
Sourcepmid-36056411· quoted verbatim from the abstract, emphasis added - Doses stated in the abstract: 40 mg per day
In part 1, 12 subjects were randomized to 40 mg per day of elamipretide or placebo for 12 weeks, followed by a 4-week washout and then 12 weeks on the opposite arm.
Sourcepmid-33077895· quoted verbatim from the abstract, emphasis added - Doses stated in the abstract: 40 mg/day
Participants were randomly assigned (1:1) to 40 mg/day SC elamipretide for 4 weeks followed by placebo SC for 4 weeks, separated by a 4-week washout period, or the opposite sequence.
Sourcepmid-32096613· quoted verbatim from the abstract, emphasis added - Doses stated in the abstract: 0.25 mg/kg; 0.5 mg/kg
On day of life (DOL) 34, therapy with daily IV elamipretide (0.25 mg/kg increased to 0.5 mg/kg on DOL39) began, followed by standard-of-care oral heart failure medications.
Sourcepmid-39917770· quoted verbatim from the abstract, emphasis added
Every SS-31 dose in the trials and on the label, in one table
Every figure here is a trial dose or the approved label. The research-chemical figures that circulate were not derived from them and are not reproduced.
| Source | Route | Dose | Frequency and duration | Population |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Forzinity label (2025) | Subcutaneous | Weight-gated: patients of at least 30 kg; 80 mg/mL solution | Once daily | Barth syndrome; dose reduced by half in severe kidney impairment per label |
| MMPOWER-2, MMPOWER-3, TAZPOWER and extension | Subcutaneous | 40 mg | Once daily, 4 to 168 weeks | Mitochondrial myopathy; Barth syndrome |
| MMPOWER (2018) | Intravenous | 0.01, 0.1 or 0.25 mg/kg per hour over 2 hours | Daily for 5 days | Mitochondrial myopathy |
| Older-adult trial (2021) | Intravenous | Single 2-hour infusion; dose not stated in the abstract | Once | Healthy adults 60 to 85 |
| LHON trial (2024) | Topical eye drops | 1% solution | Daily, 52 weeks plus extension | Leber hereditary optic neuropathy |
| Newborn case report (2025) | Intravenous, then subcutaneous | 0.25 mg/kg, raised to 0.5 mg/kg | Daily from day 34 of life | Barth syndrome, infant |
The trial dose is the label dose in kind: 40 mg once a day under the skin. Vendor pages for 'SS-31 peptide' quote figures that are a fraction of it, chosen without any study; they are not reproduced here. Nothing on this page is an instruction to take anything.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
Side effects: what the placebo-controlled trials recorded
From randomized trials with a placebo arm, so the frequencies mean something. Injection-site reactions dominate; nothing else has separated from placebo. Events and their frequency as each study reported them, with the denominator where the abstract gives one.
-
Elamipretide was well tolerated, with injection-site reactions being the most common adverse events.
Sourcepmid-38602181· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
The primary outcome measure was assessment of adverse events (AEs) from the administration of topical elamipretide, and the primary efficacy end point was change in best-corrected visual acuity (BCVA).
Sourcepmid-37923251· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
Elamipretide treatment was well-tolerated with most adverse events being mild to moderate in severity.
Sourcepmid-37268435· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
Injection site reactions were the most commonly reported adverse events with elamipretide (80%), the majority of which were mild.
Sourcepmid-32096613· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
Elamipretide was well tolerated and both patients demonstrated improvement in symptoms while on therapy.
Sourcepmid-39619320· quoted verbatim from the abstract - Editorial synthesis from general knowledge · primary document to be added to the ledger
- Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
Who SS-31 is discussed for, and the cautions that recur
Approved for: people with Barth syndrome weighing at least 30 kg, to improve muscle strength. Studied and not approved for: primary mitochondrial myopathy, heart failure, dry macular degeneration, Leber hereditary optic neuropathy, healthy older adults. Community: people seeking energy, longevity or recovery, for whom no trial exists.
The cautions come from the trial record and the label, not from a contraindication list:
- Injection-site reactions. Up to 80% of treated participants in MMPOWER-2 and the most common event in every subcutaneous trial. Mostly mild; the one consistent finding.
- Kidney impairment. The label halves the dose in severe renal impairment, which means the kidney matters to its clearance; anyone with reduced kidney function has a reason to read the label rather than a forum.
- Expecting a longevity effect. The one trial in healthy older adults found a transient change in a muscle-energetics measurement and no functional benefit.
- Expecting a myopathy effect. The 218-patient trial found none on its primary endpoints; a post hoc analysis suggested benefit in the nuclear-DNA subgroup, which is a hypothesis for the next trial, not a result.
- Children and pregnancy. Children under 30 kg are outside the label; use below that weight exists only as expanded-access case reports. No pregnancy data.
- Research-chemical vials. As with every unapproved product on this site's compound list, Composition, sterility and dose are unverified; the approved product is a prescription medicine.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
Biomarkers measured in studies
Laboratory and clinical measures the studies report tracking, including which hormones did and did not change.
-
Between the participants receiving elamipretide and those receiving placebo, the difference in the least squares mean (SE) from baseline to week 24 on distance walked on the 6MWT was -3.2 (95% CI -18.7 to 12.3; p = 0.69) meters, and on the PMMSA, the total fatigue score was -0.07 (95% CI -0.10 to 0.26; p = 0.37).
Sourcepmid-37268435· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
For the 6-min walk test (6MWT, primary endpoint), the least squares (LS) mean difference between groups was 79.7 m (P = 0.0004) at week 64 and 91.0 m (P = 0.0005) at week 76 in favor of elamipretide.
Sourcepmid-36056411· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
Elamipretide significantly reduced the HtrA2 median serum level after myocardial infarction 1805.5 (981.3-2220.1) pg/mL vs. 496.5 (379.4-703.8) pg/mL ( P ⩽0.05).
Sourcepmid-28534645· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
In contrast, SS-31 reduced oocyte aneuploidy, ROS accumulation and DNA damage.
Sourcepmid-41612464· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
We therefore tested whether elamipretide, a synthetic cardiolipin-binding peptide, could improve mitochondrial function and cardiolipin levels in βTFP-deficient mice and patient-derived fibroblasts.
Sourcepmid-41500837· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
In vitro experiments were performed on BV2 cells subjected to oxygen-glucose deprivation/reoxygenation, assessing cell viability, lipid peroxidation, ferroptosis-associated protein expression, and cytokine secretion following SS-31 intervention.
Sourcepmid-41136322· quoted verbatim from the abstract
Reported interactions
Sentences in which the compound is studied alongside another agent. Read the quotation: the word interaction can also be statistical.
-
Co-administration of SS-31 and NMN significantly attenuated post-ischemic brain damage and ameliorated neurological deficits (P < 0.0001), demonstrating effects markedly superior to either monotherapy.
Sourcepmid-42443448· quoted verbatim from the abstract
Reported timelines
Onset, peak and duration figures as each study reported them.
- Source
pmid-34264994 - Source
pmid-29500292 - Source
pmid-33077895
What is measured over time, and what is not
Elamipretide's time course is unusually well documented. Hours: muscle ATP capacity rose during a two-hour infusion and had returned to baseline by day 7. Five days: a dose-dependent gain in walking distance in the first myopathy trial. Four to 24 weeks: no significant gain in walking distance in the two larger myopathy trials. Twelve weeks: no gain in the randomized Barth phase. 36 to 168 weeks: steadily accumulating gains in walking distance, strength and heart volumes in the Barth extension, in eight to ten patients without a placebo arm. The pattern the developers draw from this is that cardiolipin repair takes months in the disease it fits and does not happen where cardiolipin is not the problem. What has never been measured is any outcome in a healthy person beyond one infusion.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
Escalation schedules used in studies
How trials stepped doses, reported as study design.
-
Participants were randomized to intravenous elamipretide (0.01, 0.1, and 0.25 mg/kg/h or placebo for 2 hours in a dose-escalating sequence).
Sourcepmid-29500292· quoted verbatim from the abstract
Study durations
Treatment and follow-up periods as stated in each abstract.
- Durations stated: 28 week; 168 week
TAZPOWER was a 28-week randomized, double-blind, and placebo-controlled trial followed by a 168-week OLE.
Sourcepmid-38602181· quoted verbatim from the abstract - Durations stated: 52 week; 52 weeks
This phase II, prospective, randomized, vehicle-controlled, single-center clinical trial involved administration of elamipretide 1% topical ophthalmic solution to patients with LHON over a 52-week double-masked treatment period, followed by an open-label extension (OLE) for up to 108 additional weeks of treatment.
Sourcepmid-37923251· quoted verbatim from the abstract - Durations stated: 24 weeks
After screening, eligible participants were randomized 1:1 to receive either 24 weeks of elamipretide at a dose of 40 mg/d or placebo subcutaneously.
Sourcepmid-37268435· quoted verbatim from the abstract, emphasis added - Durations stated: 12 years
In clinical trials, elamipretide produced clinical and functional improvements in adults and adolescents with mitochondrial disorders, such as primary mitochondrial myopathy and Barth syndrome; however, experience in younger patients is limited and to our knowledge, these are the first case reports on the safety and efficacy of elamipretide treatment in children under 12 years of age.
Sourcepmid-36636586· quoted verbatim from the abstract, emphasis added - Durations stated: 12 weeks; 4 week
In part 1, 12 subjects were randomized to 40 mg per day of elamipretide or placebo for 12 weeks, followed by a 4-week washout and then 12 weeks on the opposite arm.
Sourcepmid-33077895· quoted verbatim from the abstract, emphasis added - Durations stated: 4 weeks; 4 week; 6 month
Participants were randomly assigned (1:1) to 40 mg/day SC elamipretide for 4 weeks followed by placebo SC for 4 weeks, separated by a 4-week washout period, or the opposite sequence.
Sourcepmid-32096613· quoted verbatim from the abstract, emphasis added
Routes studied
Routes of administration named in each study.
- administration by subcutaneous route reported
The BTHS-SA was administered in TAZPOWER, a phase 2, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled crossover study to evaluate daily subcutaneous injections of elamipretide in subjects with genetically confirmed BTHS.
Sourcepmid-40281531· quoted verbatim from the abstract - administration by subcutaneous route reported
Patients entering the OLE continued elamipretide 40 mg subcutaneous daily.
Sourcepmid-38602181· quoted verbatim from the abstract - administration by topical route reported
This study aimed to assess the safety, tolerability, and potential efficacy of topical elamipretide in patients affected with Leber hereditary optic neuropathy (LHON).
Sourcepmid-37923251· quoted verbatim from the abstract - administration by subcutaneous route reported
After screening, eligible participants were randomized 1:1 to receive either 24 weeks of elamipretide at a dose of 40 mg/d or placebo subcutaneously.
Sourcepmid-37268435· quoted verbatim from the abstract - administration by subcutaneous route reported
This study aims to evaluate the effect of subcutaneous (SC) elamipretide dosing on exercise performance using the 6 min walk test (6MWT), patient-reported outcomes measuring fatigue, functional assessments, and safety to guide the development of the Phase 3 trial.
Sourcepmid-32096613· quoted verbatim from the abstract - administration by intravenous route reported
Participants were randomized to intravenous elamipretide (0.01, 0.1, and 0.25 mg/kg/h or placebo for 2 hours in a dose-escalating sequence).
Sourcepmid-29500292· quoted verbatim from the abstract
Weight-normalized doses, as published
Per-kilogram figures exactly as each study published them, for the species it studied.
- Weight-normalized doses as published: 0.25 mg/kg; 0.5 mg/kg
On day of life (DOL) 34, therapy with daily IV elamipretide (0.25 mg/kg increased to 0.5 mg/kg on DOL39) began, followed by standard-of-care oral heart failure medications.
Sourcepmid-39917770· quoted verbatim from the abstract, emphasis added
Weight-normalized figures above are reproduced exactly as each study published them, for the species it studied. Dose does not scale linearly with body mass between species: metabolic rate, clearance and receptor density differ, and regulatory guidance uses allometric, not proportional, conversion. A mg/kg figure from a rat study is a fact about that rat study and nothing else.
What people report outside the literature
Forum reports describe use for energy, longevity and recovery, none of which has been tested in a trial. The 2021 older-adult trial is the closest thing to that use, and it found a transient effect on muscle energetics and none on fatigue. What circulates in user communities and clinic marketing, reported so a reader knows the figures and their origin. None of it has been tested in a trial, and none of it is a suggestion.
- Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
Reconstitution mathematics
Lyophilised peptide is supplied as a mass in a vial and dissolved in a stated volume of diluent. Two figures follow from that and nothing else:
- Concentration = mass in vial ÷ diluent volume. A 5 mg vial in 2 mL is 2.5 mg/mL, or 2,500 mcg/mL.
- Volume for a given mass = that mass ÷ concentration. 250 mcg at 2,500 mcg/mL is 0.1 mL. On a U-100 insulin syringe, where 1 mL is 100 units, that is 10 units.
Study doses on this page are quoted as published, in the units the authors used. Converting between mcg, mg and IU, or between a mass and a syringe volume, is arithmetic; deciding a mass is not, and this page does not do it. The reconstitution calculator performs the conversion with the formula shown.
Reading a certificate of analysis
A certificate of analysis is a laboratory report on one batch. Reading it means checking four things in order.
- Identity. Mass spectrometry should report an observed molecular mass matching the peptide's theoretical mass within the instrument's stated tolerance. A certificate with no mass spectrometry, or one that lists only the expected value, has not confirmed identity.
- Purity. HPLC purity is the area of the main peak as a share of all peaks, at a stated wavelength. It says nothing about what the other peaks are, and it is not a measure of quantity.
- Quantity. Net peptide content, by amino acid analysis or UV, is the fraction of the vial's mass that is peptide rather than counter-ions and water. A 5 mg vial at 80% net content holds 4 mg of peptide, and every concentration figure above changes accordingly.
- Provenance. The batch number on the certificate should match the vial, the laboratory should be named and independent of the seller, and the test date should be recent.
This page rates no supplier and links to none. It describes how to read the document.
Equipment described in studies
Published human studies of injectable peptides report the same small set of materials: single-use insulin syringes with fixed needles, most often U-100 with 29 to 31 gauge needles; bacteriostatic water or sterile water for injection as diluent, with the choice stated in the methods; alcohol swabs; and refrigerated storage of reconstituted solution. Animal studies more often report intraperitoneal or intragastric administration and state the vehicle used. Where a study in this record's ledger names its materials or vehicle, that sentence appears under storage or routes above; where it does not, nothing is assumed here.
Storage and handling
Forzinity is supplied as a ready-to-use solution with storage and handling set out in its prescribing information, which this page does not reproduce. Lyophilised research-chemical vials follow vendor sheets, not the label, and their stability is untested.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
Common mistakes in how SS-31 is discussed
- Not knowing it is an approved drug. Most 'SS-31 peptide' pages were written before September 2025 or ignore it. The molecule in the vial is elamipretide, and its label exists.
- Reading the approval as proof for every use. It covers muscle strength in Barth syndrome, a cardiolipin disorder, and was granted on accelerated terms from a 12-patient trial plus extension and a natural-history comparison. The 218-patient myopathy trial missed.
- Calling it an antioxidant. It does not scavenge radicals; it binds a lipid and changes how the respiratory chain sits. Its developers stopped using the word.
- Quoting a longevity dose. No trial has dosed healthy people for more than one infusion. The daily figures that circulate come from forums, not from the programme.
- Pairing it with MOTS-c as if tested. No study has combined or sequenced them.
- Counting open-label gains as trial results. The Barth extension's 96-metre improvement had no placebo arm; the randomized phase of the same trial found nothing. Both facts belong in the same sentence.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
SS-31 vs MOTS-c, humanin, NAD+ precursors and CoQ10
| Compound | What it is | Human evidence | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| SS-31 (elamipretide) | Synthetic tetrapeptide binding cardiolipin | Randomized trials; approved for Barth syndrome 2025 | Prescription medicine (Forzinity); unapproved as a research chemical |
| MOTS-c | 16-amino-acid peptide encoded in mitochondrial DNA, acting on metabolism; 277 indexed publications | 4 randomized trials; 13 human studies in its ledger | Not approved; WADA S4.4 |
| Humanin | 24-amino-acid mitochondrial-derived peptide; 589 indexed publications | 5 randomized trials; 17 human studies in its ledger | Not approved; research only |
| NAD+ precursors (NMN, NR) | Oral supplements raising the coenzyme NAD+ | Small randomized trials of NAD+ levels; no disease approval | Dietary supplements; no record on this site |
| Coenzyme Q10 | Electron carrier in the respiratory chain | Many small trials in mitochondrial disease with inconsistent results | Dietary supplement; no record on this site |
The pairing with MOTS-c that drives the comparison demand has no study behind it; the site's comparison pages list every pair that has been examined. One 2026 mouse study combined SS-31 with NMN after brain ischaemia, which is the only combination evidence in the ledger; it is quoted in the combination section if that section is present, and it is not a human result.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
Exclusion criteria in studies
Who each trial excluded, as stated in the abstract.
-
After screening, eligible participants were randomized 1:1 to receive either 24 weeks of elamipretide at a dose of 40 mg/d or placebo subcutaneously.
Sourcepmid-37268435· quoted verbatim from the abstract
Regulatory status: an approved medicine since September 2025
Registry facts only. Jurisdiction-level status, compounding categories and sport prohibitions need their own cited documents before they appear here.
- Editorial synthesis from general knowledge · primary document to be added to the ledger
Open questions and limitations
What is genuinely unknown, stated plainly. A missing field is not evidence that the outcome is safe, effective, or established.
- The Forzinity prescribing information, the PROGRESS-HF heart-failure trial and the ReCLAIM-2 macular-degeneration trial are cited from public summaries and are not yet in the ledger.
- No trial has given elamipretide to healthy people for longer than a single infusion.
- The confirmatory study required by the accelerated approval has not reported.
Questions people ask
What is the half-life of SS-31?
Short, measured in hours. The 2021 trial in older adults found the effect of a single two-hour infusion on muscle energetics had gone by day 7 and called that consistent with elamipretide's half-life in human blood; the trials and the label therefore use once-daily subcutaneous injection. No abstract in the ledger states the figure, so this page does not.
What is SS-31?
SS-31 is the research name of elamipretide, a four-amino-acid synthetic peptide that concentrates in the inner mitochondrial membrane and binds cardiolipin. It was developed as Bendavia and MTP-131 by Stealth BioTherapeutics and, since 19 September 2025, is an FDA-approved medicine, Forzinity, for muscle strength in Barth syndrome. Vials sold as 'SS-31 peptide' are the same molecule from unregulated suppliers.
Does SS-31 work as eye drops?
A 1% topical solution was tested for 52 weeks in 12 people with Leber hereditary optic neuropathy. It was well tolerated but visual acuity did not differ from the vehicle-treated eyes; a post hoc visual-field measure favoured treatment. Company trials in dry macular degeneration (ReCLAIM-2) missed their primary endpoints, per public reports; those papers are not in the ledger.
Can SS-31 help with weight loss?
No trial has measured weight or fat as an outcome, and none was designed to. Elamipretide's trials measured walking distance, fatigue, muscle strength, heart volumes and mitochondrial ATP production. The metabolic reputation belongs to MOTS-c, a different peptide, and is untested for SS-31.
How was SS-31 given in the trials?
By subcutaneous injection once a day in every trial from MMPOWER-2 onward and on the approved label; by two-hour intravenous infusion in the first dose-finding trial and the older-adult trial; as 1% eye drops in the optic-neuropathy trial. Site selection and technique are on the Forzinity label, which this page does not reproduce.
Should SS-31 be taken with MOTS-c?
No study has tested the pair, in any order or in any species. The sequencing advice on forums is invented. Each compound's own record is the whole of what is known: SS-31 has randomized trials in mitochondrial disease; MOTS-c has small human studies and mouse work.
Is SS-31 the same as elamipretide and Forzinity?
Yes. SS-31 is the laboratory name from the Szeto-Schiller series, elamipretide is the generic drug name, MTP-131 and Bendavia were development names, and Forzinity is the FDA-approved brand since 19 September 2025. Vials sold as 'SS-31 peptide' contain the same molecule from unregulated suppliers.
What is SS-31 approved for?
To improve muscle strength in adults and children with Barth syndrome who weigh at least 30 kg, under accelerated approval, which requires a confirmatory study. It is not approved for mitochondrial myopathy, heart failure, eye disease, ageing or anything else it was tried for.
What did the SS-31 trials show?
In Barth syndrome, no effect in 12 weeks of randomized treatment but sustained gains in walking distance, strength and heart volumes over 168 weeks of open-label treatment, and a large advantage over untreated patients in a natural-history comparison. In 218 people with mitochondrial myopathy, no effect on walking distance or fatigue at 24 weeks. In healthy older adults, a single infusion raised muscle ATP capacity for hours and did not change fatigue.
Is there an SS-31 dose?
For the approved use, yes: the label gives a once-daily subcutaneous dose for patients of at least 30 kg from an 80 mg/mL solution, halved in severe kidney impairment. Every subcutaneous trial used 40 mg once daily. For energy or longevity there is no dose, because there is no trial; the figures on vendor pages were not taken from the programme.
What are the side effects of SS-31?
Injection-site reactions, in up to 80% of treated participants, mostly mild. Across the randomized trials nothing else separated from placebo, and the trials called the drug well tolerated. Months of use in healthy people have never been studied, so their safety is unmeasured.
Is SS-31 an antioxidant?
Not in the scavenging sense. It concentrates in the inner mitochondrial membrane and binds cardiolipin, which is thought to keep the respiratory-chain complexes properly arranged and stop cytochrome c acting as a peroxidase. Less reactive oxygen is a downstream result, and its developers now describe it as cardiolipin-protective rather than antioxidant.
Does SS-31 help with ageing or longevity?
No trial has tested it. The nearest evidence is the 2021 trial in 39 healthy adults aged 60 to 85: one two-hour infusion raised muscle mitochondrial ATP capacity immediately, the effect was gone by day 7, and fatigue resistance did not change. No lifespan or healthspan outcome has been measured in people.
Why did the big myopathy trial fail if the drug was approved?
Because the two conditions differ. Barth syndrome is a disorder of cardiolipin itself, the lipid the drug binds; primary mitochondrial myopathy is a genotypically mixed group in which cardiolipin is not the primary defect. A post hoc analysis of MMPOWER-3 suggested benefit in the subgroup with nuclear-DNA mutations, which is a hypothesis for a future trial, not a result.
Is SS-31 banned in sport?
It is not named on the WADA Prohibited List, and as an approved medicine it does not fall under the S0 catch-all for unapproved substances. The list changes yearly and should be checked; this page does not track it.
Can SS-31 be taken orally?
No oral form has been studied in people. Every trial used subcutaneous injection, intravenous infusion or eye drops, and the approved product is an injection. A four-amino-acid peptide taken by mouth would be expected to be digested.
Which species has SS-31 been studied in?
Humans, in eleven studies in the ledger; mice and rats, in models of stroke, cardiac arrest, pulmonary fibrosis, ageing and oocyte quality; pigs, in embryo culture; and human cells. The animal literature is far larger than the human one and runs ahead of it in indications.
Has SS-31 been combined with MOTS-c or NAD+?
Not with MOTS-c in any study. One 2026 mouse study combined SS-31 with the NAD+ precursor NMN after brain ischaemia and reported less damage than either alone; it is a mouse result and the only combination evidence in the ledger.
Sources
Full citations. Every claim above links to one of these by its id.
- 1Mitochondrial Stress Commitment as an ARCH-Governed Biological Decision:Cardiolipin as the Ancestral Φ Substrate
doi-10-20944-preprints202607-2136-v1· · preprint - 2
- 3Mitochondrial-targeted therapy with elamipretide preserves cardiac function and prevents late mortality in murine polymicrobial sepsis
doi-10-64898-2026-07-03-736409· · preprint - 4Mitochondrial-Targeted SS-31 Attenuates the Doxorubicin-Induced Cardiomyoblast H9C2 Cell Senescence.
pmid-42450582· · peer-reviewed - 5SS-31 improves the quality of maternally aged oocytes by ameliorating mitochondrial function and metabolism.
pmid-41612464· · peer-reviewed - 6Elamipretide Improves Mitochondrial Function in Mitochondrial Trifunctional Protein-Deficient Mice and Human Fibroblasts.
pmid-41500837· · peer-reviewed - 7
- 8SS-31 improves post-cardiac arrest brain injury by inhibiting microglial ferroptosis and polarization.
pmid-41136322· · peer-reviewed - 9Mitochondrial-Targeted Protective Potential of Elamipretide for the In Vitro Production of Porcine Embryos.
pmid-40941292· · peer-reviewed - 10SS-31 Targets NOS2 to Enhance Osteogenic Differentiation in Aged BMSCs by Restoring Mitochondrial Function.
pmid-40570323· · peer-reviewed - 11
- 12Expanded-access use of elamipretide in a newborn with Barth syndrome: a case report.
pmid-39917770· · peer-reviewed
Show the remaining 22 sources
- 13
- 14
- 15
- 16
- 17
- 18
- 19
- 20
- 21Identifying responders to elamipretide in Barth syndrome: Hierarchical clustering for time series data.
pmid-37041653· · peer-reviewed - 22
- 23Natural history comparison study to assess the efficacy of elamipretide in patients with Barth syndrome.
pmid-36056411· · peer-reviewed - 24
- 25
- 26
- 27A randomized crossover trial of elamipretide in adults with primary mitochondrial myopathy.
pmid-32096613· · peer-reviewed - 28Oxidative stress and inflammation in the evolution of heart failure: From pathophysiology to therapeutic strategies.
pmid-31412712· · peer-reviewed - 29Targeting Oxidative Stress and Mitochondrial Dysfunction in the Treatment of Impaired Wound Healing: A Systematic Review.
pmid-30042332· · peer-reviewed - 30Randomized dose-escalation trial of elamipretide in adults with primary mitochondrial myopathy.
pmid-29500292· · peer-reviewed - 31The mitochondria-targeting peptide elamipretide diminishes circulating HtrA2 in ST-segment elevation myocardial infarction.
pmid-28534645· · peer-reviewed - 32Mitochondrial oxidative stress in aging and healthspan.
pmid-24860647· · peer-reviewed - 33First-in-class cardiolipin-protective compound as a therapeutic agent to restore mitochondrial bioenergetics.
pmid-24117165· · peer-reviewed - 34Mitochondrial approaches for neuroprotection.
pmid-19076459· · peer-reviewed
Reference card
- Compound
- SS-31, mitochondrial peptides
- Evidence tier
- Approved label
- Indexed publications
- 493 · 16 RCTs · 14 other clinical trials
- Approval
- approved (2025)
- Routes reported
- intravenous, oral, subcutaneous, topical
- Reviewed
- Adam Mirando, PharmD,
Study figures are as published in each source and are not recommendations. Print or save this card with its date.
Last reviewed and what changed
Newest first. These are the record's own revision dates, and the same dates feed the sitemap.
- · Reviewed by Adam Mirando, PharmD, on 2026-09-29.
- · Written under the sequencing rule after research/intents/ss-31.json: guide (8 sections incl. a trial-by-trial table), FAQ to 12 plus 10 from the map, mechanism, reported-use, regulatory (Forzinity approval 2025-09-19, pending_source for the label) and timeline claims; evidence tier set to approved-label by hand; three misdrafted interactions claims removed; intent-driven H1 and title. Triage: ChEMBL approval fields set by hand so the fact tiles agree with the tier; two directory links added.
- · Claims drafted extractively from 32 ledger sources by scripts/draft_claims.py: 42 claims, 25 evidence-table rows. Status researched -> draft.
- · Claims drafted extractively from 32 ledger sources by scripts/draft_claims.py: 45 claims, 25 evidence-table rows. Status researched -> draft.
- · Evidence fetched from Europe PMC and ChEMBL by scripts/fetch_evidence.py; claims not yet written.