Melanotan II ('tanning injections', the Barbie drug): what four small trials found, why it was abandoned, and what the case reports and vials show
What 646 indexed publications and 1 randomized trials actually state about melanotan ii, sentence by sentence, each tied to its source and labeled by the kind of evidence it is.
At a glance
What melanotan II is, and what happened to it
Melanotan II is a peptide in the melanocortin agonists class (non-selective melanocortin receptor agonist). Europe PMC indexes 646 publications naming it or a listed alias in a title or abstract, including 1 randomized controlled trials and 6 clinical trials of any design, as of . The strongest evidence tier in that literature is human clinical trials.
This page reports what those studies state, sentence by sentence, with each statement tied to its source and labeled by the kind of evidence it is. It does not recommend use, and it does not translate study doses into anything personal.
What the evidence level means
Publication counts show what is indexed, not how strong the evidence is. The ledger below separates human clinical records from preclinical, analytical, and in-vitro work.
Interpretation boundary: An indexed publication count is a discovery measure. It does not establish efficacy, safety, approval, or a personal treatment plan.
Melanotan II in two minutes
What it is. A cyclic copy of the pigment hormone α-MSH, made in Arizona in the late 1980s to give a sunless tan and prevent skin cancer. It turned out to hit the brain's melanocortin receptors too, producing erections, nausea, yawning and appetite loss.
What the research actually shows. 646 indexed publications, most about its use as a laboratory tool in rodents. Four human trials, all from the inventors' group, in 3 to 20 men: a two-week pilot at 0.01 to 0.03 mg/kg that darkened skin in two of three, and three erection studies at 0.025 mg/kg in which most men had erections lasting 40 minutes, two thirds reported more desire, and one in eight had severe nausea. No tanning trial was ever run.
What happened to it. Abandoned as too non-selective. Its metabolite became PT-141 (bremelanotide, approved 2019 for low desire); its linear cousin became afamelanotide (Scenesse, approved for a rare light-sensitivity disease). Melanotan II itself is illegal to sell in the UK, US and Australia.
What the case reports add. Priapism needing surgery; darker, larger and new moles; brown gums after 64 days of use; a mucosal melanoma in the mouth of a 22-year-old after nasal use. Online vials held 4 to 9 mg with impurities.
Where the evidence is thinnest. Long-term melanoma risk, which no one has measured; and everything about the loading-and-maintenance schedules, which no one has tested.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
How it works
Written from general pharmacology and the development record, and marked as editorial synthesis; the measurements behind it are quoted in the biomarker section.
- Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
- Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
- Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
What happened in the human studies?
This record's ledger holds 8 primary human studies, of which 4 are trials. Few enough to show in full: each card quotes what its abstract reported about Melanotan II. Read them before any other section on this page.
-
Increased sexual desire was reported after 13/19 (68%) doses of Melanotan II vs 4/21 (19%) of placebo (P<0.01).
Sourcepmid-11035391· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
The mean duration of tip rigidity greater than 80% was 45.3 minutes with Melanotan II versus 1.9 for placebo (P = 0.047).
Sourcepmid-11018622· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
Mean duration of tip rigidity greater than 80% was 38.0 minutes with Melanotan-II and 3.0 with placebo (p=0.0045).
Sourcepmid-9679884· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
Two subjects had increased pigmentation in the face, upper body and buttock, as measured by quantitative reflectance and by visual perception 1 week after MT-II dosing ended.
Sourcepmid-8637402· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
The lesions were almost symmetrically distributed, with a more intense coloration in the anterior region of the lower jaw.
Sourcepmid-41752902· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
The case of a 22-year-old female who developed a mass in the anterior maxilla after using Melanotan II, a nasal spray containing a synthetic analogue of melanocyte-stimulating hormone, is reported.
Sourcepmid-40210573· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
Mass spectrometric analysis of melanotan II was challenging, as it is a small peptide with a molecular weight of 1024 Da, which is significantly heavier than classical drugs that the laboratory usually handles.
Sourcepmid-39302005· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
Melanotan II, an injectable melanocortin analog, is illicitly available on the internet to generate a sunless tan through melanocyte induction.
Sourcepmid-33460908· quoted verbatim from the abstract
Trial by trial: what melanotan II did in the men who received it, and what the case reports say since
The complete human record: four small studies from the 1990s, then the harms reported from unregulated use.
| Study | Participants | Dose and route | Design | Result |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dorr 1996 (phase 1 pilot) | 3 healthy men | 0.01 mg/kg SC, weekdays, 2 weeks; escalated to 0.025 or 0.03 mg/kg | Single-blind, alternating saline | Pigmentation of face, upper body and buttocks in 2 of 3; spontaneous erections 1 to 5 hours after dosing; mild nausea at most doses; grade II sleepiness at 0.03 mg/kg |
| Wessells 1998 | 10 men with psychogenic erectile dysfunction | 0.025 mg/kg SC | Double-blind placebo crossover, 6-hour RigiScan | Erections in 8 of 10; 38 minutes of full rigidity vs 3 on placebo; nausea, yawning, less appetite |
| Wessells 2000 | 10 men with organic erectile dysfunction | 0.025 mg/kg SC, twice each for drug and placebo | Double-blind placebo crossover | Erections after 12 of 19 injections vs 1 of 21 placebo; 45 minutes of rigidity; desire higher; nausea and yawning |
| Wessells 2000 (pooled review) | 20 men with erectile dysfunction | 0.025 mg/kg SC | Pooled crossover data | Erections in 17 of 20 without stimulation; desire after 68% of doses vs 19%; severe nausea in 12.9% |
| Report | Who | Product and route | What happened |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bonchev 2026 | One user, 64 days of self-injection for tanning | Subcutaneous vials | Symmetrical brown pigmentation of the gums and cheeks; followed for three months after stopping |
| Yassin Alsabbagh 2025 | 22-year-old woman using a nasal spray for tanning | Nasal spray | Mucosal malignant melanoma of the upper jaw; surgery and immunotherapy |
| Mallory 2021 | One man | Subcutaneous injection | Ischaemic priapism, failed standard management, surgical decompression; the third published priapism report |
| Breindahl 2015 | Vials bought from three online shops | Injectable powder | 4.3 to 8.8 mg of melanotan II per vial; impurities of 4 to 6% in two of three shops |
| Gilhooley 2021 | 623 forum entries from 205 users, UK and Ireland | Mostly injections | Motivations and side effects catalogued: nausea, flushing, mole darkening, erections, appetite loss |
| Deville 2024 | Seized vials | Injectable powder | Forensic identification; the peptide is hard to detect with standard drug screens |
The tanning trial that a reader would expect at the top of this table does not exist. The inventors measured pigment in three men for two weeks and then studied erections; the tanning use was invented by the market.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
What the evidence shows
One row per primary study in this record's ledger. Fields are read from each paper's indexing and abstract. "Analytical method" marks papers about detecting or measuring the compound rather than about its effects.
| Study | Design | n | Species | Dose | Route | Duration | Reported outcome | Tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wessells 2000 | Controlled clinical trial | 20 | Humans | — | — | — | Increased sexual desire was reported after 13/19 (68%) doses of Melanotan II vs 4/21 (19%) of placebo (P<0.01). | Human clinical trial |
| Wessells 2000 | Randomized controlled trial | — | Humans | 0.025 mg/kg | subcutaneous | — | The mean duration of tip rigidity greater than 80% was 45.3 minutes with Melanotan II versus 1.9 for placebo (P = 0.047). | Human clinical trial |
| Wessells 1998 | Controlled clinical trial | 10 | Humans | — | — | — | Mean duration of tip rigidity greater than 80% was 38.0 minutes with Melanotan-II and 3.0 with placebo (p=0.0045). | Human clinical trial |
| Dorr 1996 | Phase 1 clinical trial | — | Humans | 0.01 mg/kg; 0.025 mg/kg/day | subcutaneous | 1 week | Two subjects had increased pigmentation in the face, upper body and buttock, as measured by quantitative reflectance and by visual perception 1 week after MT-II dosing ended. | Human clinical trial |
| Bonchev 2026 | Case report | — | Humans | — | oral | 64 days | The lesions were almost symmetrically distributed, with a more intense coloration in the anterior region of the lower jaw. | Observational, human |
| Yassin 2025 | Case report | — | Humans | — | intranasal | — | — | Observational, human |
| Deville 2024 | Case report | — | Humans | — | — | — | Mass spectrometric analysis of melanotan II was challenging, as it is a small peptide with a molecular weight of 1024 Da, which is significantly heavier than classical drugs that the laboratory usually handles. | Observational, human |
| Mallory 2021 | Case report | — | Humans | — | subcutaneous | — | — | Observational, human |
| Merlino 2026 | Animal study | — | — | — | — | — | — | Animal, preclinical |
| Inozemtseva 2024 | Animal study | — | Rats | — | — | — | We found that chronic treatment with Semax and MTII reversed or substantially attenuated CUS-induced anhedonia, BW gain suppression, adrenal hypertrophy and a decrease in the hippocampal levels of BDNF. | Animal, preclinical |
| Liu 2024 | Animal study | — | Mice | — | — | — | Strikingly, promoting wheel-running activity in Htr2cF327L/Y mice results in a decrease in HFD consumption and improved glucose homeostasis. | Animal, preclinical |
| Ford 2024 | Animal study | — | — | — | — | — | However, during social interactions, MTII selectively increased oxytocin-dependent activation of nucleus accumbens, a site critical for social learning. | Animal, preclinical |
| Eliason 2022 | Animal study | — | Mice | — | — | — | MT-II injected into the NAcc significantly decreased consumption in both home cage and operant paradigms, and furthermore decreased appetitive responding to gain access to food. | Animal, preclinical |
| Hong 2021 | Animal study | — | Zebrafish | — | — | — | Using α-MSH human form as a standard, we could identify derivatives that induced greater physiological effects; particularly, the synthetic analogue melanotan-II (MT-II) exhibited a higher capacity for melanophore… | Animal, preclinical |
| Fortin 2021 | Animal study | — | Mice | — | — | — | — | Animal, preclinical |
| René 2021 | Animal study | — | Mice | — | — | — | Interestingly, the expression of the WT-hMC4R in mice revealed lower sensitivity of the human receptor to α-melanocyte-stimulating hormone (α-MSH) but not β-MSH or melanotan II, resulting in a lower penetrance obese… | Animal, preclinical |
| Chen 2020 | Analytical method | — | Mice | — | — | — | — | Animal, preclinical |
| Wu 2020 | Animal study | — | Mice | — | — | — | By immunoblot and immunohistochemical analysis, it was found that MTII dose-dependently increased the phosphatase and tensin homolog (PTEN) protein level while reducing PTEN phosphorylation, which resulted in the… | Animal, preclinical |
| Minakova 2019 | Animal study | — | Mice | — | — | — | Normal background C57 male mice treated with MT-II showed no significant alteration in social behavioral metrics. | Animal, preclinical |
| Cote 2018 | Animal study | — | — | — | — | — | Interestingly, systolic and mean arterial pressure (MAP) was lower in the TRF group. | Animal, preclinical |
Doses reported in studies
Each entry is a sentence quoted from the study's abstract, with the study's design, sample size and year in front of it. Comparator doses in the same sentence are not attributed to melanotan ii.
- Source
pmid-8637402 - Source
pmid-11018622 - Source
pmid-9679884 - Source
pmid-29351428
Every melanotan II dose in the trials, in one table
Every figure here is a trial dose, given by body weight to men in erection and pilot studies. The loading and maintenance schedules were never tested.
| Setting | Route | Dose | Schedule | Population |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phase 1 pilot (1996) | Subcutaneous | 0.01 mg/kg, rising by 0.005 to 0.025 or 0.03 mg/kg | Weekdays, alternating with saline, 2 weeks | 3 healthy men |
| Erection trials (1998, 2000) | Subcutaneous | 0.025 mg/kg | Single doses, repeated on separate days | Men with erectile dysfunction |
| Mice (2018) | Intravenous infusion | 120 mcg/kg/day | 7 days | Appetite and blood-pressure study |
| Mice (2018) | Intraperitoneal | Not stated in the abstract | Single | Hypothermia via mast cells |
| Rats (1994) | Oral | Not stated in the abstract | Single | 4.6% oral bioavailability |
Figures for the loading and maintenance schedules circulate on forums and vendor pages. None was tested in a study, so none is reproduced here; the table holds every dose a study actually gave. For scale, the trial dose for a 75 kg man is about 1.9 mg, given for research under monitoring, and the analysed vials held 4 to 9 mg of uncertain purity. Nothing on this page is an instruction to take anything.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
Side effects: what the trials recorded, and what the case reports added
From the trials: nausea (severe in one in eight at the erection dose), yawning and stretching, spontaneous erections, sleepiness at the top dose, and darkening skin. From case reports since: priapism needing surgery, darkening and new moles, gum pigmentation, and a mucosal melanoma after nasal use, in people using unregulated product with sunbeds. Events and their frequency as each study reported them, with the denominator where the abstract gives one.
- Source
pmid-11035391 - Source
pmid-9679884 - Source
pmid-8637402 - Source
pmid-41752902 - Source
pmid-40210573 - Source
pmid-33460908 - Source
pmid-24771717 - Source
pmid-29812984 - Editorial synthesis from general knowledge · primary document to be added to the ledger
Who melanotan II is discussed for, and the cautions that recur
Studied: healthy men and men with erectile dysfunction, for days. Never studied: women, anyone for tanning, anyone for more than two weeks, anyone by nasal spray. Community: people who want a tan without sun, and people using it for libido or appetite suppression.
The cautions come from the trials, the case reports and the pharmacology:
- Moles, freckles and melanoma. It darkens and enlarges existing moles and creates new pigmented spots, which hides melanoma and mimics it. Melanoma case reports exist, most with sunbed use; the 2025 oral mucosal melanoma after nasal use is in a site the sun does not reach. Anyone with many moles, fair skin or a family history of melanoma has the strongest reason to avoid it, and any user needs a skin check by someone who knows what it does.
- Priapism. Erections without stimulation were a trial finding; ischaemic priapism needing surgery is a case-report finding. Men with sickle-cell trait or prior priapism are at particular risk.
- Nausea and sleepiness. Severe nausea in one in eight at the erection dose; sleepiness at the top pilot dose.
- Blood pressure and heart rate. MC4 agonists raise both in rodents; the trials did not report cardiovascular measures, and no user has been monitored.
- Vial contents. Analysed vials held variable amounts with impurities; the product is illegal to sell, so nobody is accountable for it.
- Pregnancy, children and women generally. No study included a woman; the nasal-spray melanoma case was a 22-year-old woman.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
Reported interactions
Sentences in which the compound is studied alongside another agent. Read the quotation: the word interaction can also be statistical.
-
In the present report, a mouse model of binge EtOH drinking was employed to determine whether the MCR agonist, melanotan-II (MTII), would improve the effectiveness of NAL in reducing excessive binge-like EtOH drinking when these drugs were co-administered prior to EtOH access.
Sourcepmid-26108334· quoted verbatim from the abstract
Reported timelines
Onset, peak and duration figures as each study reported them.
- Source
pmid-11018622 - Source
pmid-8637402 - Source
pmid-8637402 - Source
pmid-7983590
What is measured over time, and what is not
The trials measured hours. Yawning and stretching came first, then erections, intermittently for one to five hours after a dose, with about 40 minutes of full rigidity inside a six-hour window. Pigmentation appeared within the two-week pilot in two of three men, and that is the whole of the tanning time-course in the literature. Everything users know about how fast a tan appears, how long it lasts and how often to inject comes from each other; the case reports add that gum pigmentation was still present three months after stopping. Melanoma, the outcome that matters, would need years of follow-up in a cohort that has never been assembled.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
Escalation schedules used in studies
How trials stepped doses, reported as study design.
- Source
pmid-8637402
Study durations
Treatment and follow-up periods as stated in each abstract.
- Source
pmid-8637402 - Source
pmid-41752902
Routes: subcutaneous injection in every trial; nasal sprays untested and now in a case report
Subcutaneous injection in all four trials. Nasal sprays were never studied; the one published account of nasal melanotan II is a 2025 case report of a mucosal melanoma in the mouth of a 22-year-old user. Routes of administration named in each study.
- administration by subcutaneous route reported
Melanotan II (0.025 mg/kg) and vehicle were each administered twice by subcutaneous injection; real-time RigiScan monitoring and a visual analog were used to quantify the erections during a 6-hour period.
Sourcepmid-11018622· quoted verbatim from the abstract - administration by subcutaneous route reported
Subcutaneous injections of MT-II or saline were given daily (Monday-Friday) for 2 consecutive weeks.
Sourcepmid-8637402· quoted verbatim from the abstract - administration by oral route reported
To date, there is a lack of published data specifically addressing the timeline for resolution of oral pigmentation associated with Melanotan II use, making this case a valuable contribution to the limited existing literature on the subject.
Sourcepmid-41752902· quoted verbatim from the abstract - administration by intranasal route reported
The case of a 22-year-old female who developed a mass in the anterior maxilla after using Melanotan II, a nasal spray containing a synthetic analogue of melanocyte-stimulating hormone, is reported.
Sourcepmid-40210573· quoted verbatim from the abstract - administration by subcutaneous route reported
We describe in this case report a patient presenting with acute ischemic priapism after subcutaneous injection of melanotan II.
Sourcepmid-33460908· quoted verbatim from the abstract - Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
Weight-normalized doses, as published
Per-kilogram figures exactly as each study published them, for the species it studied.
- Source
pmid-8637402 - Source
pmid-29351428
Weight-normalized figures above are reproduced exactly as each study published them, for the species it studied. Dose does not scale linearly with body mass between species: metabolic rate, clearance and receptor density differ, and regulatory guidance uses allometric, not proportional, conversion. A mg/kg figure from a rat study is a fact about that rat study and nothing else.
What people report outside the literature
Forum reports describe loading doses daily for a week or two, then weekly maintenance, with nausea, flushing, darker moles and freckles, spontaneous erections and appetite loss; a 2021 study of 623 forum entries catalogued the same. None of that schedule was ever tested in a study. What circulates in user communities and clinic marketing, reported so a reader knows the figures and their origin. None of it has been tested in a trial, and none of it is a suggestion.
- Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
Reconstitution mathematics
Lyophilised peptide is supplied as a mass in a vial and dissolved in a stated volume of diluent. Two figures follow from that and nothing else:
- Concentration = mass in vial ÷ diluent volume. A 5 mg vial in 2 mL is 2.5 mg/mL, or 2,500 mcg/mL.
- Volume for a given mass = that mass ÷ concentration. 250 mcg at 2,500 mcg/mL is 0.1 mL. On a U-100 insulin syringe, where 1 mL is 100 units, that is 10 units.
Study doses on this page are quoted as published, in the units the authors used. Converting between mcg, mg and IU, or between a mass and a syringe volume, is arithmetic; deciding a mass is not, and this page does not do it. The reconstitution calculator performs the conversion with the formula shown.
Reading a certificate of analysis
A certificate of analysis is a laboratory report on one batch. Reading it means checking four things in order.
- Identity. Mass spectrometry should report an observed molecular mass matching the peptide's theoretical mass within the instrument's stated tolerance. A certificate with no mass spectrometry, or one that lists only the expected value, has not confirmed identity.
- Purity. HPLC purity is the area of the main peak as a share of all peaks, at a stated wavelength. It says nothing about what the other peaks are, and it is not a measure of quantity.
- Quantity. Net peptide content, by amino acid analysis or UV, is the fraction of the vial's mass that is peptide rather than counter-ions and water. A 5 mg vial at 80% net content holds 4 mg of peptide, and every concentration figure above changes accordingly.
- Provenance. The batch number on the certificate should match the vial, the laboratory should be named and independent of the seller, and the test date should be recent.
This page rates no supplier and links to none. It describes how to read the document.
Equipment described in studies
Published human studies of injectable peptides report the same small set of materials: single-use insulin syringes with fixed needles, most often U-100 with 29 to 31 gauge needles; bacteriostatic water or sterile water for injection as diluent, with the choice stated in the methods; alcohol swabs; and refrigerated storage of reconstituted solution. Animal studies more often report intraperitoneal or intragastric administration and state the vehicle used. Where a study in this record's ledger names its materials or vehicle, that sentence appears under storage or routes above; where it does not, nothing is assumed here.
Storage and handling
No storage study for human use exists. The 2015 vial analysis and the 2024 forensic report describe a lyophilised peptide that is hard to identify with standard drug screens and variable in content; the 1994 preformulation study measured its chemistry for a dosage form that was never made. Vendor handling instructions describe a product whose sale is illegal in the countries most buyers live in.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
Common mistakes in how melanotan II is discussed
- Assuming a tanning trial exists. It does not. Pigmentation was an observation in three men over two weeks; the human trials were about erections.
- Confusing it with afamelanotide (Scenesse). That is melanotan I, a different, MC1-selective molecule approved for a rare disease. Melanotan II has no approval anywhere.
- Confusing it with PT-141. Bremelanotide is melanotan II's metabolite, developed separately and approved for low desire in women. The approval does not transfer to the parent.
- Calling it 'research use only'. It is an unlicensed medicine whose sale is illegal in the UK, US and Australia; the label is a legal fiction the 2021 forum study found users themselves saw through.
- Treating loading and maintenance doses as protocol. Both are community inventions. The trial dose was 0.025 mg/kg, for erections, under monitoring.
- Reading the melanoma question as settled either way. No cohort has been followed. The mechanism, the mole changes and the case reports are the reasons dermatologists advise against it; the absence of a study is not the absence of a risk.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
Melanotan II vs melanotan I (afamelanotide, Scenesse), PT-141 and UV tanning
| Agent | What it is | Human evidence | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Melanotan II | Cyclic α-MSH(4-10) analogue; non-selective melanocortin agonist | Four trials in 3 to 20 men (1996 to 2000); case reports of harm | Never approved; illegal to sell in the UK, US and Australia |
| Afamelanotide (melanotan I, Scenesse) | Linear α-MSH analogue selective for MC1R; implant | Phase 3 trials in erythropoietic protoporphyria | Approved (EU 2014, FDA 2019) for EPP; no record on this site |
| Bremelanotide (PT-141) | Melanotan II's deamidated metabolite; MC4-preferring; 127 indexed publications | 14 randomized trials; approved 2019 for hypoactive sexual desire in premenopausal women | Prescription medicine (Vyleesi) |
| UV tanning (sun, sunbeds) | Ultraviolet-induced melanin | Decades of epidemiology: a proven cause of melanoma | Sunbeds banned for minors in many countries |
| Dihydroxyacetone self-tanners | Surface stain of the outer skin layer | Cosmetic safety record; no pigment biology | Approved cosmetic ingredient |
The 'melanotan 1 vs 2' question has a plain answer: one became an approved medicine for a rare disease by being selective, the other stayed a laboratory compound by being unselective, and only the second is sold for tanning. The PT-141 comparison runs the same way: the approved drug is the metabolite, refined for one receptor and one use.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
Other compounds in its class
Same class in the registry: Bremelanotide. Each row shows what that compound's own record states; nothing is inferred across rows.
| Compound | Tier | Publications | RCTs | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Melanotan II | Human clinical trial | 646 | 1 | draft |
| Bremelanotide | Approved label | 127 | 14 | draft |
Regulatory status: unlicensed and illegal to sell in the UK, US and Australia; never approved anywhere
Registry facts only. Jurisdiction-level status, compounding categories and sport prohibitions need their own cited documents before they appear here.
- Editorial synthesis from general knowledge · primary document to be added to the ledger
Open questions and limitations
What is genuinely unknown, stated plainly. A missing field is not evidence that the outcome is safe, effective, or established.
- No tanning trial, no study in women, no study longer than two weeks and no cohort followed for melanoma exists.
- The MHRA 2008 warning, FDA 2009 warning letter, TGA position and the rhabdomyolysis reports are cited from summaries and are not in the ledger. The melanoma and naevus case reports of 2012 and 2013 were added to it on 29 September 2026: Ong 2012 (melanoma in situ), Mang 2012 (dermoscopic change in naevi), Reid 2013 (atypical naevi) and Hjuler 2013 (melanoma).
- Thirteen alias-matched sources (metallothionein II, myotoxin II, V5/MT) were removed by hand; the fetcher's publication counts still include them.
Questions people ask
Does melanotan II cause melanoma?
Unproven and not ruled out. Case reports describe melanomas diagnosed in users, a 2025 report describes a mucosal melanoma in the mouth of a 22-year-old after nasal use, and the drug reliably darkens and enlarges moles, which can hide or mimic melanoma. Most reported users also used sunbeds. No study has followed users long enough to measure risk in either direction; the melanocortin-1 receptor melanotan II activates is the receptor that governs pigment, and melanocytes are the cells melanoma comes from.
What is melanotan II?
Melanotan II is a synthetic cyclic peptide copied from the active core of the pigment hormone α-MSH, made at the University of Arizona in the late 1980s as a possible sunless tanning agent to prevent skin cancer. It activates several melanocortin receptors at once: MC1R in skin, which darkens pigment, and MC3 and MC4 in the brain, which produce erections, nausea, yawning and appetite loss. It was tested in a handful of men in the 1990s, never developed further, and is now sold illegally online as the 'Barbie drug' for tanning.
What is the half-life of melanotan II?
Not stated in any abstract in the ledger. The erection trials monitored effects for six hours after a subcutaneous dose, and the phase 1 pilot reported spontaneous erections for one to five hours after dosing; a 1994 preformulation study measured 4.6 percent oral bioavailability in rats. The tan itself persists for weeks because it is melanin in the skin, not the drug in the blood, which is why users move to weekly maintenance.
Is melanotan II hard on the kidneys?
No trial measured kidney function, and no case report in the ledger describes kidney injury. Vendor pages mention rhabdomyolysis at overdose, which would strain the kidneys; that claim comes from case reports not in this record and is unverified here. What the trials did record was nausea, yawning, erections and sleepiness at the top dose.
Does melanotan II burn fat?
In mice and rats, yes: melanotan II activates the MC4 receptor that suppresses appetite, and chronic infusion reduced food intake and body fat in several rodent studies in the ledger. In people the trials recorded decreased appetite as a side effect and measured nothing about weight; no human study has tested it for fat loss, and its effects on heart rate and blood pressure in rodents are the reason MC4 agonists for obesity have been hard to develop.
Can melanotan II change eye colour?
No study has reported it, and the biology runs the other way: melanotan II stimulates melanin production, which darkens, not lightens. Forum reports of eye changes exist; the ledger has none, and a pigment-stimulating drug acting on the iris would be a reason for concern rather than a feature.
Has melanotan II been tested in humans?
In four small studies in the 1990s, all from the University of Arizona group that made it: a two-week phase 1 pilot in three men and three double-blind erection studies in 10 to 20 men with erectile dysfunction at 0.025 mg/kg. No tanning trial was run, no woman was enrolled, and nobody was dosed for more than two weeks. Everything since is case reports of harm from unregulated use.
What dose was used in the trials?
0.01 mg/kg subcutaneously rising to 0.025 or 0.03 mg/kg in the pilot, and 0.025 mg/kg in the erection studies, about 1.9 mg for a 75 kg man, given as single doses under monitoring. The loading-then-maintenance schedules on vendor pages were never tested; analysed online vials held 4.3 to 8.8 mg with impurities.
What are the side effects of melanotan II?
In the trials: nausea (severe in one in eight at 0.025 mg/kg), yawning and stretching, spontaneous erections lasting hours, appetite loss, skin darkening, and sleepiness at 0.03 mg/kg. In case reports: priapism needing surgery, darker and new moles, brown pigmentation of the gums, and a mucosal melanoma in the mouth after nasal use. In mice, hypothermia via histamine release.
Does melanotan II cause cancer?
Not established and not excluded. It acts on the receptor that drives melanocyte pigment, reliably changes moles, and has been linked in case reports to melanomas, most in sunbed users; a 2025 report describes an oral mucosal melanoma after nasal spray. No cohort of users has ever been followed, so the risk has not been measured in either direction.
What is the difference between melanotan 1 and melanotan 2?
Melanotan I is a linear α-MSH analogue selective for the pigment receptor MC1R; it became afamelanotide (Scenesse), approved for erythropoietic protoporphyria. Melanotan II is a cyclic analogue that also hits the brain's MC3 and MC4 receptors, hence erections, nausea and appetite loss; it was never approved and is the one sold for tanning.
Is melanotan II the same as PT-141?
No, though they are related: bremelanotide (PT-141) is melanotan II's deamidated metabolite, developed separately for its erection and desire effects and approved in 2019 for low sexual desire in premenopausal women. The approval belongs to the metabolite, not the parent.
Is melanotan II legal?
No. It has never been approved anywhere and is an unlicensed medicine whose sale for human use is illegal in the United Kingdom (MHRA warning 2008), Australia and the United States (FDA warning letter 2009). It is sold anyway online as a 'research chemical' and, increasingly, as a nasal spray.
Do melanotan II nasal sprays work?
No study has tested any nasal product. The trials used subcutaneous injection. The one published account of nasal melanotan II is a 2025 case report of a mucosal melanoma in the upper jaw of a 22-year-old who used a spray for tanning.
How long does melanotan II take to tan?
The only measurement is the two-week pilot, in which two of three men had visibly darker skin on the face, upper body and buttocks. Everything else about onset, depth and fade comes from users; the tan persists for weeks because it is melanin in the skin, not drug in the blood.
Does melanotan II help with weight loss?
In rodents it suppresses appetite through the MC4 receptor and reduces body fat, while raising heart rate and blood pressure. In men the trials recorded decreased appetite as a side effect and measured nothing about weight. No human study has tested it for fat loss.
Why does melanotan II cause erections and nausea?
Because it is not selective. The same MC4 receptors that suppress appetite drive erections through a spinal pathway, and MC3 and MC4 activation in the brainstem produces yawning, stretching and nausea. The inventors' erection trials exist because the pilot volunteers reported spontaneous erections.
Which species has melanotan II been studied in?
Humans, in four small trials; mice and rats extensively as a laboratory tool for the melanocortin system (appetite, blood pressure, hypothermia, autism and alcohol models); zebrafish; dogs. Much of the ledger is rodent pharmacology in which melanotan II is the probe, not the subject.
Sources
Full citations. Every claim above links to one of these by its id.
- 1Goldilocks-Inspired Design of Mid-Size Macrocycles for Selective Targeting of Human Melanocortin Receptors.
pmid-42340853· · peer-reviewed - 2Changes in Oral Mucosa Associated with Melanotan II Injections: A Case Report.
pmid-41752902· · peer-reviewed - 3Melanotan II nasal spray: a possible risk factor for oral mucosal malignant melanoma?
pmid-40210573· · peer-reviewed - 4
- 5Barbie drug identification: Not a child's play.
pmid-39302005· · peer-reviewed - 6Recommended Tool Compounds for the Melanocortin Receptor (MCR) G Protein-Coupled Receptors (GPCRs).
pmid-39296259· · peer-reviewed - 7Therapeutic Strategies Against Metabolic Imbalance in a Male Mouse Model With 5-HT2CR Loss-of-Function.
pmid-38815086· · peer-reviewed - 8Melanocortin agonism in a social context selectively activates nucleus accumbens in an oxytocin-dependent manner.
pmid-38253222· · peer-reviewed - 9
- 10
- 11Melanotan II User Experience: A Qualitative Study of Online Discussion Forums.
pmid-34464955· · peer-reviewed - 12Zebrafish Bioassay for Screening Therapeutic Candidates Based on Melanotrophic Activity.
pmid-34502223· · peer-reviewed
Show the remaining 29 sources
- 13The Mesencephalic Trigeminal Nucleus Controls Food Intake and Body Weight via Hindbrain POMC Projections.
pmid-34068091· · peer-reviewed - 14Pharmacological chaperone action in humanized mouse models of MC4R-linked obesity.
pmid-33434184· · peer-reviewed - 15Melanotan Tanning Injection: A Rare Cause of Priapism.
pmid-33460908· · peer-reviewed - 16Development of Ligand-Drug Conjugates Targeting Melanoma through the Overexpressed Melanocortin 1 Receptor.
pmid-33073191· · peer-reviewed - 17
- 18Topical MTII Therapy Suppresses Melanoma Through PTEN Upregulation and Cyclooxygenase II Inhibition.
pmid-31968661· · peer-reviewed - 19Melanotan-II reverses autistic features in a maternal immune activation mouse model of autism.
pmid-30629642· · peer-reviewed - 20Limiting feeding to the active phase reduces blood pressure without the necessity of caloric reduction or fat mass loss.
pmid-30024775· · peer-reviewed - 21Melanotan II causes hypothermia in mice by activation of mast cells and stimulation of histamine 1 receptors.
pmid-29812984· · peer-reviewed - 22
- 23
- 24AgRP-Expressing Adrenal Chromaffin Cells Are Involved in the Sympathetic Response to Fasting.
pmid-28531318· · peer-reviewed - 25
- 26
- 27Role of melanocortin signaling in neuroendocrine and metabolic actions of leptin in male rats with uncontrolled diabetes.
pmid-25137027· · peer-reviewed - 28
- 29
- 30Identification and characterization by LC-UV-MS/MS of melanotan II skin-tanning products sold illegally on the Internet.
pmid-24771717· · peer-reviewed - 31Melanoma associated with the use of melanotan-II.
pmid-24355990· · peer-reviewed - 32Atypical melanocytic naevi following melanotan injection.
pmid-23914578· · peer-reviewed - 33[Dermoscopic changes in melanocytic nevi during use of melanotan II].
pmid-23052015· · peer-reviewed - 34Melanotan-associated melanoma in situ.
pmid-22724573· · peer-reviewed - 35Sympathetic and sensory innervation of brown adipose tissue.
pmid-20935665· · peer-reviewed - 36The first preparative solution phase synthesis of melanotan II.
pmid-19043625· · peer-reviewed - 37
- 38Melanocortin receptor agonists, penile erection, and sexual motivation: human studies with Melanotan II.
pmid-11035391· · peer-reviewed - 39
- 40Evaluation of melanotan-II, a superpotent cyclic melanotropic peptide in a pilot phase-I clinical study.
pmid-8637402· · peer-reviewed - 41Preformulation studies with melanotan-II: a potential skin cancer chemopreventive peptide.
pmid-7983590· · peer-reviewed
Reference card
- Compound
- Melanotan II, melanocortin agonists
- Evidence tier
- Human clinical trial
- Indexed publications
- 646 · 1 RCTs · 6 other clinical trials
- Approval
- no registered development programme found
- Routes reported
- intranasal, oral, subcutaneous
- Reviewed
- Adam Mirando, PharmD,
Study figures are as published in each source and are not recommendations. Print or save this card with its date.
Last reviewed and what changed
Newest first. These are the record's own revision dates, and the same dates feed the sitemap.
- · Reviewed by Adam Mirando, PharmD, on 2026-09-29.
- · The four melanoma and naevus case reports the page cited from summaries are now in the ledger: Ong 2012 (pmid-22724573), Mang 2012 (pmid-23052015), Reid 2013 (pmid-23914578) and Hjuler 2013 (pmid-24355990). An open action had named one of them as 'Ong and Bygrave'; the authors are Ong and Bowling.
- · Reverted 1 of those label changes after tightening the rule: 'urine' had matched inside 'murine' and 'screening' had matched a zebrafish drug screen. pmid-34502223 back to Animal study
- · Label correction: 2 evidence rows built from detection and doping-control papers carried study designs such as animal or in-vitro work. They are relabelled Analytical method, the label scripts/draft_claims.py has applied since the rule was added; these rows predate it. pmid-34502223 (Animal study -> Analytical method); pmid-32674774 (Animal study -> Analytical method)
- · Stage 0 cleaned by hand: thirteen sources and their rows matched by the alias 'MT-II' (metallothionein II, myotoxin II, V5/MT, a genotype paper) removed. Written under the sequencing rule after research/intents/melanotan-ii.json: guide (8 sections incl. a four-trial table and a case-report table), FAQ to 12 plus 8 from the map, dose, weight-normalized, duration, timeline and adverse-event claims from the abstracts, mechanism, reported-use, regulatory (illegal to sell in the UK, US and Australia; descendants approved) with pending_source; intent-driven H1 and title.
- · Claims drafted extractively from 50 ledger sources by scripts/draft_claims.py: 39 claims, 25 evidence-table rows. Status researched -> draft.
- · Claims drafted extractively from 50 ledger sources by scripts/draft_claims.py: 50 claims, 25 evidence-table rows. Status researched -> draft.
- · Evidence fetched from Europe PMC and ChEMBL by scripts/fetch_evidence.py; claims not yet written.