DSIP peptide: what the 1980s sleep trials found, why no gene for it exists, and what the products people buy rest on
What 559 indexed publications and 7 randomized trials actually state about dsip, sentence by sentence, each tied to its source and labeled by the kind of evidence it is.
At a glance
What DSIP is, and why its existence is disputed
DSIP is a peptide in the neuropeptides nootropic class (delta sleep-inducing peptide; receptor unidentified). Europe PMC indexes 559 publications naming it or a listed alias in a title or abstract, including 7 randomized controlled trials and 18 clinical trials of any design, as of . The strongest evidence tier in that literature is human clinical trials.
This page reports what those studies state, sentence by sentence, with each statement tied to its source and labeled by the kind of evidence it is. It does not recommend use, and it does not translate study doses into anything personal.
What the evidence level means
Publication counts show what is indexed, not how strong the evidence is. The ledger below separates human clinical records from preclinical, analytical, and in-vitro work.
Interpretation boundary: An indexed publication count is a discovery measure. It does not establish efficacy, safety, approval, or a personal treatment plan.
DSIP in two minutes
What it is. A nine-amino-acid peptide isolated from sleeping rabbits in 1977 and named for the delta-wave sleep it induced in other rabbits. Synthesised and infused into small groups of people through the 1980s and 1990s, then largely abandoned.
What the research actually shows. 559 indexed publications and sixteen human studies in the ledger, all intravenous, none larger than 67 people. In healthy volunteers a morning infusion increased sleep by 59% within two hours. In chronic insomniacs, two placebo-controlled polysomnography trials found better sleep and two found no significant difference from placebo. A single dose lowered ACTH for three hours in one study; another found no effect on the stress axis.
The question nobody asks. No gene encoding DSIP has been found in any genome. Whether it is a natural hormone or an artefact of 1970s antibody methods is unresolved, and it is the main reason research stopped.
Status. Not approved anywhere; reported to be on FDA's 2023 compounding category 2 list; caught by WADA's S0 rule.
Where the evidence is thinnest. The products people buy. Every trial used slow intravenous infusion by body weight; no study has tested a subcutaneous injection or a nasal spray of DSIP in a controlled design.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
How it works
Written from general pharmacology and the development record, and marked as editorial synthesis; the measurements behind it are quoted in the biomarker section.
- Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
- Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
- Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
Trial by trial: what DSIP did to sleep, and what it did not
Every human study in the ledger. The placebo column is the one to read: half of the sleep trials found nothing against it.
| Study | Participants | Dose and schedule | Design | Result |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Schneider-Helmert 1981 | 6 healthy volunteers | 25 nmol/kg IV, morning | Double-blind crossover | Sleep +59% within 130 minutes; shorter, altered sleep the following night |
| Schneider-Helmert 1981 | 6 middle-aged chronic insomniacs | 25 nmol/kg IV, single | Placebo-controlled | Longer, less interrupted sleep; effect from the second hour, up to 6 hours; no daytime sedation |
| Schneider-Helmert 1987 | 14 middle-aged chronic insomniacs | IV, 7 consecutive nights | Placebo-controlled, double-blind | Night sleep improved; daytime state and performance improved |
| Monti 1987 | Chronic insomniacs | 25 nmol/kg IV, 4 nights | Double-blind crossover | Awakenings and latency fell but not significantly different from placebo |
| Bes 1992 | 16 chronic insomniacs | 25 nmol/kg IV, 3 afternoons | Double-blind matched pairs | Higher sleep efficiency and shorter sleep latency on polysomnography |
| Schneider-Helmert 1983 | Five studies pooled | IV, single and repeated | Review of the group's trials | Latency about 1 hour, duration up to 20 hours; slow injection essential |
| Dick 1983 | 67 patients in alcohol or opiate withdrawal | 25 nmol/kg IV as sole treatment | Uncontrolled | Benefit reported in 48 of 49 evaluable patients; no comparison group |
| Bjartell 1989 | 11 healthy men | 25 nmol/kg IV, single | Randomized double-blind crossover | ACTH lowered for at least 3 hours |
| Chiodera 1994 | 8 healthy men | 25 nmol/kg IV over 10 minutes | Controlled challenge tests | Different effects on vasopressin and ACTH responses |
| Späth-Schwalbe 1995 | 5 per condition, healthy men | 3 and 4 mg IV over 2 hours | Placebo-controlled | No effect on CRH- or meal-induced ACTH and cortisol |
| Pomfrett 2009 | Surgical patients | IV adjunct to isoflurane | Randomized | Heart rate up, heart-rate variability down, paradoxical effect on anaesthetic depth |
| Kresiun 2014 | 15 patients with diabetic retinopathy (Russian) | Deltalicin 0.3 mg/day intranasal | Uncontrolled | Visual evoked potentials reported restored |
| Schulz 1994; Vgontzas 1995; Scholle 1992; Hegbrant 1991 | Volunteers, apnoea and narcolepsy patients, infants, dialysis patients | None given; plasma DSIP measured | Observational | Plasma levels tracked rest, disease and age; not a marker of sleep disorders |
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
What the evidence shows
One row per primary study in this record's ledger. Fields are read from each paper's indexing and abstract. "Analytical method" marks papers about detecting or measuring the compound rather than about its effects.
| Study | Design | n | Species | Dose | Route | Duration | Reported outcome | Tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kresiun 2014 | Clinical trial | 15 | Humans | — | intranasal | — | Treatment with deltalicin (daily dose of 0.0003 g of delta sleep-inducing peptide intranasally for two months) decreased the latent period and led to less pronounced depression of VEP amplitude in patients with… | Human clinical trial |
| Pomfrett 2009 | Randomized controlled trial | — | Humans | — | intravenous | — | DSIP significantly increased heart rate, decreased HRV and, paradoxically, significantly reduced delta rhythm along with reducing burst suppression and increasing BIS at 25 nmol kg(-1) during isoflurane anaesthesia. | Human clinical trial |
| Späth-Schwalbe 1995 | Clinical trial | 5 | Humans | 4 mg | intravenous | — | — | Human clinical trial |
| Schulz 1994 | Clinical trial | — | Humans | — | — | — | — | Human clinical trial |
| Chiodera 1994 | Randomized controlled trial | 7 | Humans | — | — | — | The administration of DSIP or normal saline alone did not change the concentrations of circulating AVP. | Human clinical trial |
| Bes 1992 | Randomized controlled trial | — | Humans | — | intravenous | — | The results for objective sleep quality indicated higher sleep efficiency and shorter sleep latency with DSIP as compared to placebo. | Human clinical trial |
| Bjartell 1989 | Randomized controlled trial | — | Humans | — | intravenous | 39 years | A significant reduction of ACTH-like immunoreactivity (ACTH-LI) in plasma was detected for at least 3 hr after the DSIP injection, compared to the control subjects, in whom a slightly elevated concentration of ACTH-LI… | Human clinical trial |
| Schneider-Helmert 1987 | Controlled clinical trial | — | Humans | — | — | — | The treatment substantially improved night sleep with the first and additionally with repeated doses. | Human clinical trial |
| Monti 1987 | Controlled clinical trial | — | Humans | — | intravenous | — | For NREM sleep time and stage 2 sleep differences between DSIP and a placebo were significant, but the same differences existed already for the baseline values. | Human clinical trial |
| Schneider-Helmert 1983 | Controlled clinical trial | — | Humans | — | intravenous | — | During the active awake state, DSIP induced higher alertness and better performance. | Human clinical trial |
| Schneider-Helmert 1981 | Controlled clinical trial | — | Humans | — | intravenous | — | Delayed effects on subsequent night sleep were shorter sleep onset, reduced percentage of stage 1, and better sleep efficiency. | Human clinical trial |
| Schneider-Helmert 1981 | Clinical trial | — | Humans | — | intravenous | — | — | Human clinical trial |
| Vgontzas 1995 | Human study | — | Humans | — | — | — | No differences were found in the morning or evening plasma DSIP-LI levels in a second group of 11 normal controls and 8 sleep apneics. | Observational, human |
| Scholle 1992 | Human study | 28 | Humans | — | — | — | There was no age dependence of the plasma level of DSIP in the first year of life but there was an increase in the ratio of quiet/active sleep depending of maturity. | Observational, human |
| Hegbrant 1991 | Human study | — | Humans | — | — | — | The plasma concentrations of DSIP, beta-END, m-ENK, beta-LPH, and alpha-MSH were increased. | Observational, human |
| Dick 1983 | Human study | 67 | Humans | — | intravenous | — | — | Observational, human |
| Mu 2024 | Animal study | — | Mice | — | — | — | Pichia pastoris -secreted delta sleep inducing peptide and crossing the blood-brain barrier peptides (DSIP-CBBBP) fusion peptides holds significant promise for its potential sleep-enhancing and neurotransmitter… | Animal, preclinical |
| Tukhovskaya 2021 | Animal study | — | Rats | — | intranasal | 8 days | Although brain infarction in DSIP-treated animals was smaller than in vehicle-treated animals, the difference was not significant. | Animal, preclinical |
| Voĭtenkov 2009 | Animal study | — | Mice | — | subcutaneous | 5 days | — | Animal, preclinical |
| Stanojlović 2007 | Animal study | — | Rats | 1.0 mg/kg | intraperitoneal | — | In EEGs of metaphit-treated animals polyspikes, spike-wave complexes and sleep-like patterns were recorded, while the power spectra were increased. | Animal, preclinical |
| Konorova 2006 | Animal study | — | Rats | — | — | — | Deltaran decreased the mortality rate (by 62%) and alleviated the symptoms of cerebral ischemia. | Animal, preclinical |
| Dovedova 2005 | Animal study | — | Rats | — | — | — | — | Animal, preclinical |
| Popovich 2003 | Animal study | 54 | Mice | — | subcutaneous | — | The results of this study show that the treatment with Deltaran did not influence food consumption, but decreased the body weight of mice; it slowed down the age-related switching-off of estrous function; it decreased… | Animal, preclinical |
| Shustanova 2003 | Animal study | — | Rats | — | — | — | The anti-stress effect of DSIP is directed as on increase of power endogenic enzymatic antioxidant system activity, specially glutathione peroxidase activity, and not enzymatic of antioxidant protection. | Animal, preclinical |
| Chiang 1998 | Animal study | — | Rabbits | — | transdermal | — | By using 0.2 mM o-phenanthroline in the iontophoretic delivery of DSIP at pH 4, we were able to significantly enhance the penetration of DSIP. | Animal, preclinical |
Doses reported in studies
Each entry is a sentence quoted from the study's abstract, with the study's design, sample size and year in front of it. Comparator doses in the same sentence are not attributed to dsip.
- Source
pmid-3583493 - Source
pmid-1299794 - Source
pmid-7777652 - Source
pmid-6328354 - Source
pmid-25739189
Every DSIP dose in the literature, in one table
Every figure here was infused intravenously by body weight or given as a Russian nasal preparation. No subcutaneous dose has ever been studied.
| Route | Dose | Schedule | Population | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Intravenous, slow | 25 nmol/kg (about 21 mcg/kg; roughly 1.5 mg for 70 kg) | Single, or nightly for 3 to 7 nights | Healthy volunteers; chronic insomniacs; withdrawal patients | Schneider-Helmert 1981 to 1987; Monti 1987; Bes 1992; Dick 1983; Bjartell 1989; Chiodera 1994 |
| Intravenous infusion | 3 mg and 4 mg total over 2 hours | Single | Healthy young men, CRH challenge | Späth-Schwalbe 1995 |
| Intravenous | Dose not stated in the abstract | Single, during anaesthesia | Surgical patients | Pomfrett 2009 |
| Intranasal (deltalicin, a DSIP preparation) | 0.3 mg | Daily | Diabetic retinopathy, Russia | Kresiun 2014 |
| Intravenous, animals | 5 mg/kg for 6 days; 1.0 mg/kg | Repeated | Rats, rabbits, dogs, cats | Toxicology 1983; seizure model 2007 |
Figures for this compound circulate on forums and vendor pages. None has been tested in a human study by the routes people use, so none is reproduced here; the table holds every dose a study actually administered. The conversion in the first row is arithmetic on the study dose (molecular weight about 849), not a recommendation, and it describes an intravenous infusion given in a sleep laboratory.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
Side effects: what the trials recorded
The trials called tolerability good and insisted on slow injection. Frequencies were not reported in the abstracts; one anaesthesia study found a paradoxical effect. Events and their frequency as each study reported them, with the denominator where the abstract gives one.
- Source
pmid-6689058 - Source
pmid-7028502 - Source
pmid-19142086 - Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
Who DSIP is discussed for, and the cautions that recur
Studied: healthy volunteers, middle-aged chronic insomniacs, people in alcohol or opiate withdrawal, surgical patients under anaesthesia, and Russian patients with diabetic retinopathy. Never studied by the routes people use: anyone taking it subcutaneously or as a nasal spray. Community: people with insomnia, shift workers, and people using it for stress or pain.
No trial published exclusion criteria in its abstract. The cautions below come from what the studies found and from what was never measured:
- Heart rate and anaesthesia. The one modern trial found DSIP raised heart rate and reduced heart-rate variability during anaesthesia, with a paradoxical effect on depth. Anyone facing surgery has a reason to tell the anaesthetist.
- Stress hormones. One study found ACTH suppressed for hours; another found no effect. People on corticosteroids or with adrenal disease are in territory no study covered.
- Sedatives and alcohol. No interaction study exists; the withdrawal study gave DSIP alone.
- Injection speed. The early investigators called slow infusion essential and did not say what fast injection did; a subcutaneous bolus is neither.
- Product identity. Because the peptide degrades in minutes and no gene exists to reference, there is no clinical assay to confirm what a vial contains.
- Tested athletes. Unapproved substances are prohibited under WADA S0 at all times.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
Biomarkers measured in studies
Laboratory and clinical measures the studies report tracking, including which hormones did and did not change.
-
The aims were to assess depth of anaesthesia using bispectral index (BIS), the EEG and heart rate variability (HRV), and to determine whether DSIP altered the symmetry of EEG between the left and right cerebral hemispheres.
Sourcepmid-19142086· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
We examined, first, the influence of DSIP on ACTH and cortisol release following stimulation with human corticotropin-releasing hormone (h-CRH; 1.0 microgram/kg body weight, and 0.5 microgram/kg body weight, respectively) in healthy young men (n = 5 in each condition).
Sourcepmid-7777652· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
Thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH), cortisol, melatonin, prolactin, luteinizing hormone (LH), delta-sleep-inducing peptide (DSIP), its phosphorylated form (P-DSIP), heart rate, and body temperature were measured every half hour during two 24-h periods in five normal men. tau-Amino-butyric acid (GABA) and 3-methoxy-4-hydroxyphenylglycol (MHPG) were measured less frequently.
Sourcepmid-7895296· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
In the afternoon before the 3rd, 4th and 5th night, half of the patients received intravenously 25 nmol/kg body weight DSIP, and half of the patients a glucose solution (placebo).
Sourcepmid-1299794· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
Eleven healthy male volunteers, ages 25-39 years, received a single dose of synthetic delta sleep-inducing peptide (DSIP) (25 nmol/kg BW) or saline intravenously in a randomized cross-over, double-blind study.
Sourcepmid-2554357· quoted verbatim from the abstract -
The study corroborates the findings of previous investigations in healthy subjects and shows that DSIP has a normalizing influence on human sleep regulation.
Sourcepmid-7028502· quoted verbatim from the abstract
Reported timelines
Onset, peak and duration figures as each study reported them.
- Source
pmid-6689058 - Source
pmid-6895513 - Source
pmid-7028502 - Source
pmid-2554357 -
From the 49 evaluable patients, DSIP produced a beneficial effect in 48 (22 alcoholics and 26 from 27 opiate addicts), with an immediate onset of action, a good and lasting suspension of the somatic symptoms and signs.
Sourcepmid-6328354· quoted verbatim from the abstract
What is measured over time, and what is not
The early trials described the time course carefully. Sleep induction began about one hour after a slow infusion, after a slight arousing effect in the first hour; in healthy volunteers total sleep rose within 130 minutes; effects were seen for up to six hours of night sleep and, by the investigators' pooled account, up to 20 hours. ACTH stayed lowered for at least three hours after one dose. The longest course was seven nights, with one post-treatment night recorded and daytime performance tested. Nothing was measured beyond that, and nothing at all was measured for the subcutaneous or nasal routes, so 'how long does it take to kick in' has an answer only for an intravenous infusion in a laboratory.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
Study durations
Treatment and follow-up periods as stated in each abstract.
- Source
pmid-3622582 - Source
pmid-3583493 - Source
pmid-1299794 - Source
pmid-2554357 - Durations stated: 8 days
Background and Objectives : Mutual effect of the preliminary and therapeutic intranasal treatment of SD rats with DSIP (8 days) on the outcome of focal stroke, induced with intraluminal middle cerebral occlusion (MCAO), was investigated.
Sourcepmid-34500605· quoted verbatim from the abstract, emphasis added - Durations stated: 5 days
Female SHR mice received 5-days long monthly courses of delta-sleep inducing peptide (DSIP) preparation "Deltaran" subcutaneously in dose 5 mkg/kg during all their lives.
Sourcepmid-20405733· quoted verbatim from the abstract - Durations stated: 6 day
Results of 6-day consecutive intravenous administration (50 microgram/kg) indicate that there is no obvious sign of adaptation to DSIP.
Sourcepmid-6857232· quoted verbatim from the abstract
Routes: what the studies used, and what people buy
Intravenous infusion in every controlled human trial; intranasal in one Russian study of a DSIP preparation. No study has injected it subcutaneously. Routes of administration named in each study.
- administration by intranasal route reported
Treatment with deltalicin (daily dose of 0.0003 g of delta sleep-inducing peptide intranasally for two months) decreased the latent period and led to less pronounced depression of VEP amplitude in patients with diabetic retinopathy, and reduced the period of restoration of VEP characteristics to 95.1 ± 6.8 s.
Sourcepmid-25739189· quoted verbatim from the abstract - administration by intravenous route reported
The other 12 were randomly allocated to receive one of three intravenous bolus doses of DSIP (Clinalfa) at 25, 50 or 100 nmol kg(-1).
Sourcepmid-19142086· quoted verbatim from the abstract - administration by intravenous route reported
DSIP (total doses of 3 and 4 mg, respectively, vs. placebo) was infused intravenously between 30 min prior to and 90 min after CRH injections.
Sourcepmid-7777652· quoted verbatim from the abstract - administration by intravenous route reported
In the afternoon before the 3rd, 4th and 5th night, half of the patients received intravenously 25 nmol/kg body weight DSIP, and half of the patients a glucose solution (placebo).
Sourcepmid-1299794· quoted verbatim from the abstract - administration by intravenous route reported
Eleven healthy male volunteers, ages 25-39 years, received a single dose of synthetic delta sleep-inducing peptide (DSIP) (25 nmol/kg BW) or saline intravenously in a randomized cross-over, double-blind study.
Sourcepmid-2554357· quoted verbatim from the abstract - administration by intravenous route reported
DSIP in a dose of 25 nmol/kg or a placebo was administered i.v. during four nights using a double-blind crossover design.
Sourcepmid-3583493· quoted verbatim from the abstract
Weight-normalized doses, as published
Per-kilogram figures exactly as each study published them, for the species it studied.
- Source
pmid-7698722 - Weight-normalized doses as published: 1.0 mg/kg
For the purpose of the study, valproate in the doses of 50 or 75 mg/kg and DSIP (1.0 mg/kg) was i.p. injected either alone or in combination to adult Wistar male rats with fully developed metaphit seizures after eight audiogenic testing.
Sourcepmid-17957464· quoted verbatim from the abstract, emphasis added
Weight-normalized figures above are reproduced exactly as each study published them, for the species it studied. Dose does not scale linearly with body mass between species: metabolic rate, clearance and receptor density differ, and regulatory guidance uses allometric, not proportional, conversion. A mg/kg figure from a rat study is a fact about that rat study and nothing else.
What people report outside the literature
Forum reports are experiences, not evidence. The products people describe, subcutaneous or nasal, have never been tested in a controlled study. What circulates in user communities and clinic marketing, reported so a reader knows the figures and their origin. None of it has been tested in a trial, and none of it is a suggestion.
- Editorial synthesis from general knowledge
Reconstitution mathematics
Lyophilised peptide is supplied as a mass in a vial and dissolved in a stated volume of diluent. Two figures follow from that and nothing else:
- Concentration = mass in vial ÷ diluent volume. A 5 mg vial in 2 mL is 2.5 mg/mL, or 2,500 mcg/mL.
- Volume for a given mass = that mass ÷ concentration. 250 mcg at 2,500 mcg/mL is 0.1 mL. On a U-100 insulin syringe, where 1 mL is 100 units, that is 10 units.
Study doses on this page are quoted as published, in the units the authors used. Converting between mcg, mg and IU, or between a mass and a syringe volume, is arithmetic; deciding a mass is not, and this page does not do it. The reconstitution calculator performs the conversion with the formula shown.
Reading a certificate of analysis
A certificate of analysis is a laboratory report on one batch. Reading it means checking four things in order.
- Identity. Mass spectrometry should report an observed molecular mass matching the peptide's theoretical mass within the instrument's stated tolerance. A certificate with no mass spectrometry, or one that lists only the expected value, has not confirmed identity.
- Purity. HPLC purity is the area of the main peak as a share of all peaks, at a stated wavelength. It says nothing about what the other peaks are, and it is not a measure of quantity.
- Quantity. Net peptide content, by amino acid analysis or UV, is the fraction of the vial's mass that is peptide rather than counter-ions and water. A 5 mg vial at 80% net content holds 4 mg of peptide, and every concentration figure above changes accordingly.
- Provenance. The batch number on the certificate should match the vial, the laboratory should be named and independent of the seller, and the test date should be recent.
This page rates no supplier and links to none. It describes how to read the document.
Equipment described in studies
Published human studies of injectable peptides report the same small set of materials: single-use insulin syringes with fixed needles, most often U-100 with 29 to 31 gauge needles; bacteriostatic water or sterile water for injection as diluent, with the choice stated in the methods; alcohol swabs; and refrigerated storage of reconstituted solution. Animal studies more often report intraperitoneal or intragastric administration and state the vehicle used. Where a study in this record's ledger names its materials or vehicle, that sentence appears under storage or routes above; where it does not, nothing is assumed here.
Storage and handling
No storage or stability study of DSIP for human use is indexed. A 1987 plasma study found the peptide degrades and aggregates rapidly, which is a property of the molecule rather than a storage instruction. Vendor sheets follow general practice for lyophilised peptides; nothing DSIP-specific has been published.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
Common mistakes in how DSIP is discussed
- Assuming it is a natural hormone. No gene for it has been found. The name and the immunoassays are from the 1970s; the doubt is from the 1990s and has not been resolved.
- Quoting a subcutaneous dose. Every controlled trial infused it slowly into a vein by body weight. No subcutaneous or nasal DSIP has been tested against placebo.
- Counting the sleep trials as consistent. Two placebo-controlled polysomnography trials found improvement; two found no significant difference. Both facts belong together.
- Citing the withdrawal study as proof. Sixty-seven patients, no control group, and a quarter lost to evaluation.
- Treating 'delta sleep' as measured deep sleep in people. The delta-wave finding was in rabbits; the human trials measured sleep efficiency, latency and awakenings, and one found more REM.
- Pairing it with Epitalon as tested. No study has combined DSIP with any other peptide in people.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
DSIP vs melatonin, Epitalon, Pinealon and the Russian nootropic peptides
| Compound | What it is | Human sleep evidence | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| DSIP | Nonapeptide of disputed endogenous origin; receptor unknown | Four small IV polysomnography trials, split two to two | Not approved; research chemical; Russian preparation exists |
| Melatonin | The pineal hormone of darkness, on its own receptors | Dozens of randomized trials; modest effects on sleep latency | Prescription medicine in the EU and UK; supplement in the US; no record on this site |
| Epitalon | Pineal-derived tetrapeptide bioregulator; 170 indexed publications | 5 randomized trials; 9 human studies in its ledger; no polysomnography trial | Not approved; research chemical |
| Pinealon | Pineal-derived tripeptide bioregulator; 17 indexed publications | No human sleep study | Supplement in Russia; research chemical elsewhere |
| Selank and Semax | Russian nootropic peptides in this site's class; 96 and 208 indexed publications | 8 and 8 human studies in their ledgers; anxiety and cognition, not sleep | Registered medicines in Russia; not approved elsewhere |
Of everything DSIP is compared with, only melatonin has randomized sleep trials of any size. The pairing with Epitalon that vendors sell has no study behind it in people.
Editorial synthesis Written from general pharmacology, the development record and what is commonly reported; not a cited finding. Cited findings on this page carry their own tier.
Regulatory status: not approved, and named in FDA's 2023 compounding action
Registry facts only. Jurisdiction-level status, compounding categories and sport prohibitions need their own cited documents before they appear here.
- Editorial synthesis from general knowledge · primary document to be added to the ledger
Open questions and limitations
What is genuinely unknown, stated plainly. A missing field is not evidence that the outcome is safe, effective, or established.
- Whether DSIP is encoded in any genome, and therefore whether it is an endogenous peptide, is unresolved and no source in the ledger settles it.
- No controlled study has tested subcutaneous or intranasal DSIP for sleep.
- FDA's 2023 compounding notice naming Emideltide and Deltaran's Russian registration are not in the ledger.
Questions people ask
What is DSIP?
Delta sleep-inducing peptide is a nine-amino-acid peptide isolated in 1977 from the blood of rabbits in induced sleep by Schoenenberger and Monnier in Basel. It was infused intravenously into small groups of volunteers and insomniacs in the 1980s and 1990s with mixed results, and it has never been approved anywhere. No gene encoding it has been found in any genome, so whether it is a natural hormone at all is unresolved.
What is the half-life of DSIP?
Minutes. A 1987 study in rat and dog plasma found injected DSIP disappeared rapidly through enzymatic degradation, and the human trials describe a sleep-promoting latency of about an hour with effects lasting hours to a day, which the investigators attributed to downstream changes rather than the peptide persisting. No human pharmacokinetic figure is stated in any abstract in the ledger.
How often was DSIP given in the studies?
Once a day by slow intravenous infusion, for one to seven consecutive nights in the insomnia trials, and as a single infusion in the hormone studies. The intranasal Russian preparation was given daily. No study has used repeated subcutaneous injection, which is how the product circulates, so there is no studied frequency for it.
What is Deltaran?
A Russian preparation containing DSIP, given intranasally, that appears in Russian-language studies of alcohol withdrawal, stress, ageing markers and children recovering from chemotherapy. Its regulatory standing in Russia is not documented in the ledger; it has no approval outside Russia.
Has DSIP been tested in humans?
Yes, in sixteen studies in the ledger, all from 1981 to 2014 and all intravenous apart from one Russian intranasal study. The sleep trials enrolled six to sixteen people each; the largest study, 67 patients in withdrawal, had no control group. No trial has tested the subcutaneous or nasal products sold today.
Does DSIP work for sleep?
The evidence is split. In healthy volunteers a morning infusion increased sleep by 59% within two hours. In chronic insomniacs, two placebo-controlled polysomnography trials found better sleep efficiency and shorter latency, and two found changes that were not significantly different from placebo. Nothing has been tested by the routes people use.
Is there a DSIP dose?
For intravenous infusion in a sleep laboratory, the trials used 25 nanomoles per kilogram, about 21 micrograms per kilogram, given slowly; one hormone study used 3 and 4 mg over two hours. No subcutaneous or nasal dose has been studied, so the figures on vendor pages have no trial behind them.
What are the side effects of DSIP?
The early investigators reported good tolerability with slow infusion and no daytime sedation, but published no frequencies. The one modern trial found DSIP raised heart rate and lowered heart-rate variability during anaesthesia. Nothing is known about subcutaneous or nasal use.
Is DSIP a real hormone?
Unresolved. Immunoreactive DSIP has been measured in blood and tissue since the 1970s, but no gene encoding the sequence has been found in any genome, and the antibodies used cross-react with other proteins. That doubt, raised in the 1990s, is the main reason research stopped.
Is DSIP FDA approved?
No. It has never been approved anywhere. It is reported to have been placed in category 2 of FDA's interim 503A bulk-substances list in September 2023 under the name Emideltide, which bars compounding; check the live list.
Can DSIP be taken as a nasal spray?
One Russian study gave a DSIP preparation, deltalicin, intranasally at 0.3 mg a day to patients with diabetic retinopathy and measured visual evoked potentials, without a control group. No nasal DSIP has been tested for sleep, and no study has measured whether it reaches the brain by that route.
What is Deltaran?
A Russian preparation containing DSIP, given intranasally, that appears in Russian-language studies of alcohol withdrawal, stress, biomarkers of ageing in mice and children after chemotherapy. Its regulatory standing in Russia is not documented in the ledger, and it has no approval elsewhere.
Does DSIP affect cortisol or stress hormones?
Inconsistently. A single intravenous dose lowered ACTH for at least three hours in eleven healthy men, and altered vasopressin and ACTH responses to challenge in another study, but a 1995 trial found no effect on ACTH or cortisol released by CRH or a meal.
How long does DSIP take to work?
In the intravenous trials, about an hour, after a slight arousing effect in the first hour; sleep increased within 130 minutes in healthy volunteers and the effect lasted up to six hours of night sleep, with the investigators' pooled account extending to 20 hours. No timing data exist for injection under the skin or nasal spray.
Is DSIP banned in sport?
It is not named on the WADA Prohibited List, but as a substance with no approval from any regulator it falls under the list's S0 category, prohibited at all times.
Which species has DSIP been studied in?
Rabbits, where it was discovered; rats, mice, dogs and cats in pharmacology and toxicology; and humans in sixteen studies. Plasma DSIP has also been measured in infants and dialysis patients as a possible marker, without success.
Sources
Full citations. Every claim above links to one of these by its id.
- 1
- 2
- 3Delta Sleep-Inducing Peptide Recovers Motor Function in SD Rats after Focal Stroke.
pmid-34500605· · peer-reviewed - 4Peptides and the blood-brain barrier.
pmid-25805003· · peer-reviewed - 5[Using deltalicin for the treatment of patients with diabetic retinopathy].
pmid-25739189· · peer-reviewed - 6[Delta-sleep inducing peptide entrapment and release from polymer hydrogels based on modified polyvinyl alcohol in vitro].
pmid-23650723· · peer-reviewed - 7
- 8
- 9Interaction of Delta sleep-inducing peptide and valproate on metaphit audiogenic seizure model in rats.
pmid-17957464· · peer-reviewed - 10Deltaran prevents an adverse effect of emotional stress on the course of cerebral ischemia in low-resistant animals.
pmid-17181053· · peer-reviewed - 11
- 12
Show the remaining 26 sources
- 13Biochemical regulation of non-rapid-eye-movement sleep.
pmid-12700031· · peer-reviewed - 14
- 15Effects of pH, electric current, and enzyme inhibitors on iontophoresis of delta sleep-inducing peptide.
pmid-9876605· · peer-reviewed - 16Neuropeptides and human sleep.
pmid-9456470· · peer-reviewed - 17Delta-sleep-inducing peptide does not affect CRH and meal-induced ACTH and cortisol secretion.
pmid-7777652· · peer-reviewed - 18Delta sleep-inducing peptide in normal humans and in patients with sleep apnea and narcolepsy.
pmid-8532601· · peer-reviewed - 19Plasma concentration of nine hormones and neurotransmitters during usual activities or constant bed rest for 34 H.
pmid-7895296· · peer-reviewed - 20Different effects of delta-sleep-inducing peptide on arginine-vasopressin and ACTH secretion in normal men.
pmid-7698722· · peer-reviewed - 21Characterization of the release and metabolism of delta sleep-inducing peptide (DSIP) in the rat brain.
pmid-8474631· · peer-reviewed - 22Plasma levels of DSIP in infants in the first year of life and SIDS risk.
pmid-1579657· · peer-reviewed - 23Effects of delta sleep-inducing peptide on sleep of chronic insomniac patients. A double-blind study.
pmid-1299794· · peer-reviewed - 24
- 25Co-circulating sleep substances interactingly modulate sleep and wakefulness in rats.
pmid-2361467· · peer-reviewed - 26Reduction of immunoreactive ACTH in plasma following intravenous injection of delta sleep-inducing peptide in man.
pmid-2554357· · peer-reviewed - 27Degradation and aggregation of delta sleep-inducing peptide (DSIP) and two analogs in plasma and serum.
pmid-3628078· · peer-reviewed - 28Study of delta sleep-inducing peptide efficacy in improving sleep on short-term administration to chronic insomniacs.
pmid-3583493· · peer-reviewed - 29Effects of delta-sleep-inducing peptide on 24-hour sleep-wake behaviour in severe chronic insomnia.
pmid-3622582· · peer-reviewed - 30Delta-sleep-inducing peptide (DSIP): an update.
pmid-3550726· · peer-reviewed - 31Differential sleep-promoting effects of five sleep substances nocturnally infused in unrestrained rats.
pmid-6592612· · peer-reviewed - 32Fibrinopeptide A binds Gly-Pro-Arg-Pro.
pmid-6589598· · peer-reviewed - 33Minireview. Peptides and the blood-brain barrier.
pmid-6304442· · peer-reviewed - 34Synthesis of delta sleep-inducing peptide (DSIP) and its physiological activity.
pmid-6857232· · peer-reviewed - 35Effects of DSIP in man. Multifunctional psychophysiological properties besides induction of natural sleep.
pmid-6689058· · peer-reviewed - 36
- 37Acute and delayed effects of DSIP (delta sleep-inducing peptide) on human sleep behavior.
pmid-6895513· · peer-reviewed - 38The influence of synthetic DSIP (delta-sleep-inducing-peptide) on disturbed human sleep.
pmid-7028502· · peer-reviewed
Reference card
- Compound
- DSIP, neuropeptides nootropic
- Evidence tier
- Human clinical trial
- Indexed publications
- 559 · 7 RCTs · 18 other clinical trials
- Approval
- not approved · max phase 2
- Routes reported
- intranasal, intraperitoneal, intravenous, subcutaneous, transdermal
- Reviewed
- Adam Mirando, PharmD,
Study figures are as published in each source and are not recommendations. Print or save this card with its date.
Last reviewed and what changed
Newest first. These are the record's own revision dates, and the same dates feed the sitemap.
- · Reviewed by Adam Mirando, PharmD, on 2026-09-25.
- · Written under the sequencing rule after research/intents/dsip.json: guide (8 sections incl. a table of all sixteen human studies), FAQ to 12 plus 5 from the map, hand-written dose, duration, timeline and adverse-event claims from the abstracts (the drafter had read participant ages as a 39-year duration), mechanism including the gene question, reported-use, regulatory; intent-driven H1 and title.
- · Claims drafted extractively from 38 ledger sources by scripts/draft_claims.py: 28 claims, 25 evidence-table rows. Status researched -> draft.
- · Claims drafted extractively from 38 ledger sources by scripts/draft_claims.py: 35 claims, 25 evidence-table rows. Status researched -> draft.
- · Claims drafted extractively from 38 ledger sources by scripts/draft_claims.py: 35 claims, 25 evidence-table rows. Status researched -> draft.
- · Metadata refreshed by scripts/fetch_evidence.py --refresh-meta: tier animal-preclinical -> human-clinical-trial.
- · Evidence fetched from Europe PMC and ChEMBL by scripts/fetch_evidence.py; claims not yet written.